Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Writing, books, and me

So I’ve recently been kicking around the idea of writing a book .  Again.  It cycles around regularly, and I’ve been pretty good at talking myself out of it for one reason or another (the old monster, Resistance, coming into play).  First of all, what would I write, fiction  or non-fiction?  Or perhaps memoir?  My most recent incarnation was a non-fiction idea for canine health, focussing on canine epilepsy.  In a quick perusal of Amazon I found a comprehensive, well reviewed book already written on the topic that I’d forgotten about (I never purchased it because of the cost–$30 for a medium length paperback seems a little much).  Dang.  What now?

I actually have two novels about half written.  I occasionally go back and reread, find that they’re pretty darn good, if I do say so, and even start adding to them.  After my computer hard drive crashed last year I haven’t gotten back to them (they’d been saved to disc about 8 months before the crash).  I’m embarrassed to say how long ago I started them, but let’s just leave it at “over 10 years.”  After my ex-husband and I split up, I read a lot.  Well, I always read a lot, but I found I read a lot of romance novels, whether in an effort to imagine a happy ending, when mine so obviously wasn’t, or just flat out escape from reality, it was classic, perhaps even Freudian.  I quickly found out why they’re often called “trashy romance” and of course “bodice rippers.”  A lot of them are dismally bad, bringing to mind the immortal Dorothy Parker book review line: “This is not a book to be tossed aside lightly; it should be thrown with great force.”  And I did that on more than one occasion.  Whether from bad writing, poor plotting, obnoxious or simpering characters, bad dialogue, or other element, I learned to stick to a few authors who could (and do) deliver excellent writing, good stories with beleiveable plots, and strong female characters with whom you could imagine sitting down and having a cup of coffee.  In answer to the many subpar books, I said to myself, I can do this, and sat down to write.  I even took a class on writing romance, where the class assignments each week was a book list of various well known authors.  I read my first, and last, Danielle Steele novel for one week’s assignment and continue to wonder at her bestseller success, though I don’t want to single her out – there are plenty of bestseller status writers of all genres that make me scratch my head in wonder.  And I’m  no literary snob, if that hasn’t already been established by the topic.  Crap writing, plotting, dialogue all show up on the best seller lists regularly.  But hey, at least people are reading something.  Right?

Anyway, I found out that writing a decent, non-cringe inducing romance novel isn’t as easy as it sounds.  And it explains the many not so decent ones out there.  The same could be said for mystery novels, suspense/thrillers, horror, fantasy, and sci-fi.  Writing a page turner worth reading is hard work, with edits and rewriting as important as the original idea. 

This year I toyed with saddling up for NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month, held every November.  From November 1 to November 30, the goal is to write 50,000 words, roughly a 175 page novel.  It’s gotten more sophisticated over the years, with a website where you can sign up (it started out a mere decade ago with a group of writers in the Bay Area), forums, and tracking tools.  When I read the rules, I realized I wasn’t up for it, since my idea was to use my half written novels as a start.   No can do, it has to be from scratch.  Okay, maybe next year.  In the meantime, where’s that back up disc?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

The First Ten Words by Rich Larson

Because a guy has to keep his chops sharp

George Lakoff

George Lakoff has retired as Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Linguistics at the University of California at Berkeley. He is now Director of the Center for the Neural Mind & Society (cnms.berkeley.edu).

valbjerke's Blog

Real Life Random Ramblings

psychologistmimi

Food, Road Trips & Notes from the Non-Profit Underground

Citizens for Duvall

A grass roots group that gives a voice to its citizens outside of city council meetings.

Pet Zoo Kibbutz Shiller

Adventures of a pet zoo keeper

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finisterre

Trish the Dish

Keeping Our Family's Bellies FULL... One Dish at a Time

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Hen Corner

A little bit of country life in West London...

morrisbrookfarm

Going back...a return to rural life

Relaena's Travels

Eternal Journeys of a Curious Mind

The Global Warmers

8 dogs, 2 elderly adults and an aging RV

Fiber Trek ™

A TV show Connecting Community, Craft, Fiber and Farms

Brookfield Farm Bees & Honey Blog

musings on bees, life, & nature near Mt. Baker Washington

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

ella gordon

textile maker

Jenny Bruso

An Unlikely Hiker Blog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Squash Practice

A Growing Concern

Food, Farming and Faith in Snohomish County

Icelandic Fiber Farming in Cascadia

Carol Lea Benjamin on Dogs

Understanding dogs and the many roles they play in our lives

Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Living Your Sacred Livelihood

Weaving the Wisdom in Nature with Possibility Practices

Chris Morgan's Wildnotes

A BLOG of pictures and thoughts from the field

Denise Fenzi

a professional dog trainer specializing in relationship-building in competitive dog sport teams

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

Black Sheep Creamery

Artisan Sheep Cheese, Wool and Lambs

Woolyadventures's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

flippity felts

Needle felt designs and tutorials by Gabby Dexter

Single Life, With Puppy

Suddenly single at 55; what to do but get a puppy?

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

Karen Maezen Miller's Cheerio Road

A little o' this, a little o' that

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Adventures in Natural Beekeeping

Bees, Hives, Swarms, and Everything under the Sun

CARROT QUINN

dispatches from the wild

The KiltLander's Blog

JP's Outlander Recaps and other perspectives from the Dirk Side

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

