Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

It looks like a go

I got word a week ago that the short sale I’ve been waiting on since August is a go.  Both of the lienholder banks have approved my offer and now want to close within 30 days.    My hackles go up at being pushed around by the banks, again, but it’s their racket and I’m the one who asked to play a round. 

I’m trying not to get too excited, but I really am thrilled, and eager to move in to MY OWN PLACE.  (pinching myself)  Like, all mine; my first house by myself.  I went from endless waiting to a target move date only three weeks out (now two weeks).  It’s still just a target, though, as I have no closing date as of yet.  The financial guy I’ve been working with said we’re ready to go and are just waiting for the final paperwork from the lienholders.  More of the hurry up and wait, I guess.

I don’t even know it’s mine yet, like, for sure it’s mine, and I’ve dropped over $1,500 on it (not counting the earnest money).  I had a plumber out a few weeks ago to inspect the pipes.  After our weeklong freeze in December I was concerned that there would be burst pipes (no heat to the house and not winterized).  I was out there that week – even the toilet was frozen solid – and was feeling like it was a lost cause.  The realtor went out after it thawed and said she didn’t see anything leaking (we’d turned off the power so the well wouldn’t continue to pump).  The plumber didn’t find any problems and was amazed, stating “you must be the luckiest person in the world.”  (heehee)

Last week I had the well inspected and pumped the septic system, and sent in paperwork to the county for the septic inspection.  Both systems looked good, and it was nice to get good, honest service for these two important checks, and the plumber’s inspection too.  The well guy, Pierce from JKA Well Drilling, was a fount of information (sorry, couldn’t resist the pun) about the well system, and wells/well care in general.  I forgot to ask a couple of questions and received prompt answers when I contacted him a couple of days later.  He also took a water sample and sent it in for testing.  It tested free of bacteria and we’re still waiting for the arsenic test results.  Once I move in I’ll do some more testing for inorganic compounds to be sure I’m not getting overloaded on iron or anything. 

Next is getting the propane tank filled and the furnace inspected and turned on, but I’ll wait to take possession before I do that. 

I’m beginning to get excited.  I have lots of packing to do yet, but am so ready to settle in to my little place.  I’ve been refrigerator shopping, but haven’t settled on a model yet (white? stainless? black? side-by-side or French doors?).  And once I move in I’ll get it surveyed and a fence up, too.  Farley will be so happy.  There’s a LOT to do in the next few months (roof replacement, fencing, chicken coop and pen built) and I’m looking forward to all of it.  And hopefully a hot tub by the summer, too.  Ahhh. 

She looks a little sad right now, having been vacant for so long, but not for much longer!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

The First Ten Words by Rich Larson

Because a guy has to keep his chops sharp

George Lakoff

George Lakoff has retired as Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Linguistics at the University of California at Berkeley. He is now Director of the Center for the Neural Mind & Society (cnms.berkeley.edu).

valbjerke's Blog

Real Life Random Ramblings

psychologistmimi

Food, Road Trips & Notes from the Non-Profit Underground

Citizens for Duvall

A grass roots group that gives a voice to its citizens outside of city council meetings.

Pet Zoo Kibbutz Shiller

Adventures of a pet zoo keeper

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finisterre

Trish the Dish

Keeping Our Family's Bellies FULL... One Dish at a Time

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Hen Corner

A little bit of country life in West London...

morrisbrookfarm

Going back...a return to rural life

Relaena's Travels

Eternal Journeys of a Curious Mind

The Global Warmers

8 dogs, 2 elderly adults and an aging RV

Fiber Trek ™

A TV show Connecting Community, Craft, Fiber and Farms

Brookfield Farm Bees & Honey Blog

musings on bees, life, & nature near Mt. Baker Washington

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

ella gordon

textile maker

Jenny Bruso

An Unlikely Hiker Blog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Squash Practice

A Growing Concern

Food, Farming and Faith in Snohomish County

Icelandic Fiber Farming in Cascadia

Carol Lea Benjamin on Dogs

Understanding dogs and the many roles they play in our lives

Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Living Your Sacred Livelihood

Weaving the Wisdom in Nature with Possibility Practices

Chris Morgan's Wildnotes

A BLOG of pictures and thoughts from the field

Denise Fenzi

a professional dog trainer specializing in relationship-building in competitive dog sport teams

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

Black Sheep Creamery

Artisan Sheep Cheese, Wool and Lambs

Woolyadventures's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

flippity felts

Curious and Quirky needle felts from deepest darkest Devon

Single Life, With Puppy

Suddenly single at 55; what to do but get a puppy?

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

Karen Maezen Miller's Cheerio Road

A little o' this, a little o' that

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Adventures in Natural Beekeeping

Bees, Hives, Swarms, and Everything under the Sun

CARROT QUINN

dispatches from the wild

The KiltLander's Blog

JP's Outlander Recaps and other perspectives from the Dirk Side

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

