Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

The hunt is over

After two years, and a couple of major life events, I finally found it.  My peaceful little farm.  I signed the papers today, agreeing to a healthy mortgage payment (the guy at the bank, preparing my cashier’s check for the title company, helpfully told me that the Latin meaning of mortgage is death pledge.  Nice.) and plenty of fix up work in the next year or so, not to mention property maintenance (looking forward to that!), and I’m a proud new homeowner.  Gulp!

I dressed a little nicer today than I usually do, feeling the need to honor this transaction with attire that said (to me?) I’m serious, worthy, professional, and an adult.  I walked the few blocks from the office to the bank (right next to the building the title company was in) with a stomach full of butterflies, not sure why I was so nervous. I imagined all sorts of scenarios where the bank wouldn’t write the cashier’s check; I didn’t have the account number of the savings where I’ve had the money stashed waiting all these months and thought they might think I was trying to commit fraud.  The checking account, debit card (have NO idea what the pin number is since I no longer use the account much – awkward!), and drivers license worked though, and the transaction was seamless, even with my nerves causing me to fumble my checkbook over the counter toward the teller, and muffed filling the withdrawal slip.  “I guess I’m more nervous than I thought” I chuckled, thinking, too late, how false and conniving that must sound.  Evidently not, though, as the check was prepared in minutes. 

It seemed, still seems, surreal to me – ME, buying a home all by myself!  How wild is that?  There’s something life changing, or rite of passage about all of it.  I felt like a real person, a member of society, and validated somehow, as I signed, initialed, dated, signed, and signed again, ad nauseum.   When it was done I left, walking back to the office feeling amazed and excited, almost disbelieving of the fact that I just bought a house on nearly six acres, for me and the critters, all by myself.  A roof of one’s own (that needs replacing ASAP).  Wow. 

I got a little verklempt (tawk amungst yourselvs), thinking of my mother at this momentous event in my life.   “I just bought a house, Mommy” I whispered as I walked to the corner, blinking back tears.  I thought of all her sacrifices for us kids, how she never owned a home of her own, and how excited and proud she would have been for me today. 

I just bought a house. 

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “The hunt is over

  1. Karen Hertz on said:

    Awwww. What a candid and heartfelt blog. I teared up when I read your little whisper to your mommy. Such sweetness here. Thank you for sharing this with us, Maureen. What a special time in your life. I’m so excited and happy for you.

    By the way, I love the yellow walls and the warm wood floors. Very pretty. And I got a kick out of learning what mortgage means: Death Pledge? Really? I don’t think I’ll ever forget that little lesson in Latin.

    Well, congratulations, Maureen. I can almost see your mommy smiling on you. 🙂
    Karen

  2. mcfwriter on said:

    Thanks, Karen! I definitely felt her near today – it was a big day, and I was wiped out by the time I got home tonight.

    I checked on the meaning (knew “mort” was death), and sure enough. There’s a good site about the history of the term here: http://www.thehistoryof.net/history-of-home-mortgages.html

  3. Maureen, I loved reading this, and it looks like such a sweet place to call home. More pics please! 🙂

    My first home was also wayyy out in the country… chickens, ducks, even pigs and goats as time went by. Plus a humongous garden. And blueberry bushes, and wine made from elderberries, and pies made from salmonberries, and huckleberry season and… oh how I fondly remember the days of well water, septic systems and firewood!

    I look forward to reading more.
    Relaena

  4. Melodie Mason on said:

    Congratulations Maureen! It looks wonderful and I agree with Relaena that we need more pictures.

    It’s always a great feeling to get your very own place and I know you and the critters will grow to love it more each day. And the fact that it seems to be very serene is even better.

    Congrats again and I look forward to hearing more about the new homestead as you settle in.

    Melodie

  5. Pingback: Taking stock « Mo Bloggin’

Leave a Reply

The First Ten Words by Rich Larson

Because a guy has to keep his chops sharp

George Lakoff

George Lakoff has retired as Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Linguistics at the University of California at Berkeley. He is now Director of the Center for the Neural Mind & Society (cnms.berkeley.edu).

valbjerke's Blog

Real Life Random Ramblings

psychologistmimi

Food, Road Trips & Notes from the Non-Profit Underground

Citizens for Duvall

A grass roots group that gives a voice to its citizens outside of city council meetings.

Pet Zoo Kibbutz Shiller

Adventures of a pet zoo keeper

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finisterre

Trish the Dish

Keeping Our Family's Bellies FULL... One Dish at a Time

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Hen Corner

A little bit of country life in West London...

morrisbrookfarm

Going back...a return to rural life

Relaena's Travels

Eternal Journeys of a Curious Mind

The Global Warmers

8 dogs, 2 elderly adults and an aging RV

Fiber Trek ™

A TV show Connecting Community, Craft, Fiber and Farms

Brookfield Farm Bees & Honey Blog

musings on bees, life, & nature near Mt. Baker Washington

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

ella gordon

textile maker

Jenny Bruso

An Unlikely Hiker Blog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Squash Practice

A Growing Concern

Food, Farming and Faith in Snohomish County

Icelandic Fiber Farming in Cascadia

Carol Lea Benjamin on Dogs

Understanding dogs and the many roles they play in our lives

Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Living Your Sacred Livelihood

Weaving the Wisdom in Nature with Possibility Practices

Chris Morgan's Wildnotes

A BLOG of pictures and thoughts from the field

Denise Fenzi

a professional dog trainer specializing in relationship-building in competitive dog sport teams

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

Black Sheep Creamery

Artisan Sheep Cheese, Wool and Lambs

Woolyadventures's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

flippity felts

Curious and Quirky needle felts from deepest darkest Devon

Single Life, With Puppy

Suddenly single at 55; what to do but get a puppy?

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

Karen Maezen Miller's Cheerio Road

A little o' this, a little o' that

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Adventures in Natural Beekeeping

Bees, Hives, Swarms, and Everything under the Sun

CARROT QUINN

dispatches from the wild

The KiltLander's Blog

JP's Outlander Recaps and other perspectives from the Dirk Side

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

