Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

I’ma here!

It’s been a wild and wonderful few weeks.  I’ve been residing in my new place, my little farm, for three weeks now and have to say I’m loving it.  It’s been chaotic, cluttered, stressful, disorganized, with 10 minute searches for items “I just saw somewhere” and constant shifting and shuffling of boxes.  But it’s also been deeply satisfying to have a place that is mine, that I can settle into, and daydream and plan for all that I want to do – everything from painting to planting – and each day gets better and better.

First of all, the move itself went really, really well.  I hired a company that a friend had recommended and am so glad I did.  I’ve moved three times in the past 28 months, and this was by far the best move, mainly because of the moving company.  And to beat it all, they were also the least expensive.  Super Friends Moving in the Seattle area is well worth a phone call if you need help moving, large or small.  When they got my large, very heavy cat tree up to the loft area (insisting they would do it, when I said it was okay to leave in the garage – I’d planned to take it apart and then reassemble in the loft) I nearly swooned with joy.  Amazing! And the cats have really needed it and enjoyed it through the stress of the move.  Thanks, Super Friends!

After the movers left, the appliance company called – the refrigerator would be here momentarily.  That slipped into place as smooth as buddah – though I was embarrassed to have only $9.00 for the two delivery guys’ tip.  I’d given it all to the movers and forgot about the delivery guys.  They left after a mere 15 minutes or so and I locked the house and went back to Fall City to get the dogs.  (The cats, budgies, and turtles would come the next day, the chickens a week later.)

I packed up the dogs and their beds, plus whatever else I could stuff in the car with all of us, made sure the cats were secure in the bedroom with plenty of food and water, and headed back to the new place.  I’d barely eaten all day, and was exhausted, but got to the new place and had a bit of soup while the dogs sniffed everything, then got to work getting sheets and blankets on the bed.  I unpacked and shuffled boxes around as much as I could until I was dead on my feet.  I fed the dogs and sat down, hardly believing it.  My own place. 

I left the garage yard light on that night, not sure what to expect, and quickly realized I wouldn’t do that again.  The next night I left it off and was delighted at the pitch darkness once I turned the bedside lamp off.  The Fall City house was filled with light – the neighbor’s all night porch light streamed into my bedroom all night, the street light out front kept the kitchen and living room bright, and the road traffic (car headlights) lit up the ceiling frequently.  My new dark bedroom is a treat.  And for all that, I didn’t sleep deeply the first few nights – so much to do, and over-tired when I finally got to bed each night.  I think it was three or four nights in before I slept all the way through the night in my usual coma-like sleep habit.  Ahhh.

More to come…

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “I’ma here!

  1. Karen Hertz on said:

    Wow! Congratulations, Maureen! I am SO happy for you! Welcome Home! 🙂

Leave a Reply

The First Ten Words by Rich Larson

Because a guy has to keep his chops sharp

George Lakoff

George Lakoff has retired as Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Linguistics at the University of California at Berkeley. He is now Director of the Center for the Neural Mind & Society (cnms.berkeley.edu).

valbjerke's Blog

Real Life Random Ramblings

psychologistmimi

Food, Road Trips & Notes from the Non-Profit Underground

Citizens for Duvall

A grass roots group that gives a voice to its citizens outside of city council meetings.

Pet Zoo Kibbutz Shiller

Adventures of a pet zoo keeper

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finisterre

Trish the Dish

Keeping Our Family's Bellies FULL.... One Dish at a Time

KURT★BRINDLEY

writing ★ producing ★ editing

Hen Corner

A little bit of country life in West London...

morrisbrookfarm

Going back...a return to rural life

Relaena's Travels

Eternal Journeys of a Curious Mind

The Global Warmers

8 dogs, 2 elderly adults and an aging RV

Fiber Trek ™

A TV show Connecting Community, Craft, Fiber and Farms

Brookfield Farm Bees & Honey Blog

musings on bees, life, & nature near Mt. Baker Washington

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

ella gordon

textile maker

Jenny Bruso

An Unlikely Hiker Blog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Squash Practice

A Growing Concern

Food, Farming and Faith in Snohomish County

Icelandic Fiber Farming in Cascadia

Carol Lea Benjamin on Dogs

Understanding dogs and the many roles they play in our lives

Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Living Your Sacred Livelihood

Weaving the Wisdom in Nature with Possibility Practices

Chris Morgan's Wildnotes

A BLOG of pictures and thoughts from the field

Denise Fenzi

a professional dog trainer specializing in relationship-building in competitive dog sport teams

Black Sheep Creamery

Artisan Sheep Cheese, Wool and Lambs

Woolyadventures's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

flippity felts

Curious and Quirky needle felts from deepest darkest Devon

Single Life, With Puppy

Suddenly single at 55; what to do but get a puppy?

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

Karen Maezen Miller's Cheerio Road

A little o' this, a little o' that

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Adventures in Natural Beekeeping

Bees, Hives, Swarms, and Everything under the Sun

CARROT QUINN

dispatches from the wild

The KiltLander's Blog

JP's Outlander Recaps and other perspectives from the Dirk Side

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

