Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Hi ho, hi ho

I’ve been writing mostly about the new place, when I do write (my blog has been neglected!), and it continues to both overwhelm and charm me.  There is so much to do, and I’m making slow progress.  I’ve got the roof replacement lined up; we’re just waiting on a forecast for two or three days of clear weather (it’s a tear off, with plywood replacement in some sections, as well as skylight replacement…and addition – as long as the roof is off, I figure it’s the perfect time to add another skylight, this one in my dark-ish bedroom).  I was watching some YouTube videos tonight, trying to get a handle on fixing my very sticky back door.  I actually got the door open today, with minimal effort, but closing it after a few hours (it was a beautiful warm day) was a job, and I almost thought I’d have to leave it partly open all night.  I have some ideas on how to fix it after watching the YouTube bits.  I’ll take a look at it tomorrow, in the daylight . 

I purchased a small table for my dining area, and am looking forward to setting it up and being able to eat at a table again.  I unpacked or moved four boxes I had stacked in that area – always a good feeling.  I’ll set up the table tomorrow and see about dining chairs – I have a couple of misfits that will work for now.  The office is still looking like a cyclone came through.  I need to reorg my bookcase(s) and make room for the books still in boxes.  I have a couple of writing assignments – one due tomorrow for a newsletter – and trying to write amidst this mess isn’t conducive to flow or clarity. 

I’ve been reading a great book that has me fired up to get farming.  It’s called Micro Eco-Farming, and is all about the idea of producing sustainable local food and farm products on small acreage and regenerating the Earth at the same time.  I’ve been surfing the web looking at the kind of livestock I want (Shetland sheep, dairy goats, mini-cow?) and reading no less than three seed catalogs (medicinal herbs, culinary herbs, vegetables) to see what I might grow here – what will grow well in my conditions, and hopefully not be too attractive to the mama deer and her fawn. 

I found the lower right (NW) corner marker of the property, which was exciting (to me), and followed the fence posts along the northern border up into the cottonwoods.  Some of them are barely visible among the blackberry vines and general overgrowth of brush, but they’re there, and hopefully with a little bushwhacking, they’ll be useful again with my field fencing plans.  Now if I can find the NE and SE corners I’ll be happy.  I’m not exactly sure where the SW corner is, but the driveway is there, so I’m not fencing all the way to the edge of the property there or along the front.  There’s a 25 foot right-of-way setback, and the front of the property (bordering the street) is a ~35-45 foot swath of  mostly cedar woodland.  A great buffer and good cover for wildlife, too. 

I’ve been looking at ways to get through some of the blackberry and underbrush, as well as mowing the pasture and the grass around the house, too.  The pasture grass is heavily populated with tall mannagrass, and the grass around the house is almost all couchgrass.  Neither are “desirable” per se, but a good mowing will go a long way to sprucing things up.  There’s a riding lawn mower in the garage that I need to figure out.  I will probably rent a brush cutter – the Billy Goat Outback brush cutter looks like exactly what I need, but I don’t have $2K to spend on machinery right now.  Plus, I only want to get it cut back a little once or twice then have the maintenence done by my own goats (probably won’t keep a billy though).  And sheep.  And maybe a burro or a llama for flock guardian.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Hi ho, hi ho

  1. Karen Hertz on said:

    Wonderful to receive another newsy update, Maureen! How exciting — the myriad possibilities! I think you are going to be SO glad that you put that sky light in the bedroom. I think it is very healthy to wake up to natural light and goes a long way to preventing depression from setting in. I find I always do better in a place that has plenty of natural light in every room, especially the bedroom, to make waking up an earlier and more cheerful experience. 🙂 I so look foward to our housewarming party for you and your sweet “critters,” down on the farm, Maureen. That’ll be a fun party! And how exciting that spring is coming! 🙂 Lots of love, Karen

  2. mcfwriter on said:

    I totally agree about the natural light, Karen, and am a big fan of skylights in our gloomy northwest winters. My house in Sammamish had tons of windows in my bedroom PLUS a huge skylight. Moving to Carnation and then Fall City was hard because both had dark bedrooms in the morning. My new bedroom is also a little dark with just two windows (one on the east side – French doors – and one on the west side); I’m on a west facing hillside, so the morning light is compromised. A skylight will be wonderful, and well worth the extra money.

Leave a Reply

The First Ten Words by Rich Larson

Because a guy has to keep his chops sharp

George Lakoff

George Lakoff has retired as Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Linguistics at the University of California at Berkeley. He is now Director of the Center for the Neural Mind & Society (cnms.berkeley.edu).

valbjerke's Blog

Real Life Random Ramblings

psychologistmimi

Food, Road Trips & Notes from the Non-Profit Underground

Citizens for Duvall

A grass roots group that gives a voice to its citizens outside of city council meetings.

Pet Zoo Kibbutz Shiller

Adventures of a pet zoo keeper

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finisterre

Trish the Dish

Keeping Our Family's Bellies FULL... One Dish at a Time

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Hen Corner

A little bit of country life in West London...

morrisbrookfarm

Going back...a return to rural life

Relaena's Travels

Eternal Journeys of a Curious Mind

The Global Warmers

8 dogs, 2 elderly adults and an aging RV

Fiber Trek ™

A TV show Connecting Community, Craft, Fiber and Farms

Brookfield Farm Bees & Honey Blog

musings on bees, life, & nature near Mt. Baker Washington

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

ella gordon

textile maker

Jenny Bruso

An Unlikely Hiker Blog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Squash Practice

A Growing Concern

Food, Farming and Faith in Snohomish County

Icelandic Fiber Farming in Cascadia

Carol Lea Benjamin on Dogs

Understanding dogs and the many roles they play in our lives

Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Living Your Sacred Livelihood

Weaving the Wisdom in Nature with Possibility Practices

Chris Morgan's Wildnotes

A BLOG of pictures and thoughts from the field

Denise Fenzi

a professional dog trainer specializing in relationship-building in competitive dog sport teams

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

Black Sheep Creamery

Artisan Sheep Cheese, Wool and Lambs

Woolyadventures's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

flippity felts

Curious and Quirky needle felts from deepest darkest Devon

Single Life, With Puppy

Suddenly single at 55; what to do but get a puppy?

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

Karen Maezen Miller's Cheerio Road

A little o' this, a little o' that

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Adventures in Natural Beekeeping

Bees, Hives, Swarms, and Everything under the Sun

CARROT QUINN

dispatches from the wild

The KiltLander's Blog

JP's Outlander Recaps and other perspectives from the Dirk Side

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

