Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Holiday rain

I realized after I published my last post that I’d done it on the 30th anniversary of the Mt. St. Helens eruption, a big event here in Washington State.  It seems like eons ago, but it’s still hard to believe it’s been 30 years.  It didn’t affect us much here in the Seattle area, other than seeing the ash plume on the horizon for weeks (she belched ash regularly after the initial eruption).  It was scary to watch on the news and see the rivers roiling with muddy, tree filled waters, the normally gradual snowmelt of spring concentrated into a churning, angry mash up of blasted rock, ash, and trees.  Though she’s huffed and puffed a few times since, nothing has approached the devastation of that initial blast.  We all still watch her though, and her sisters, Mt. Rainier and Mt. Baker, both dormant…for now.   

This weekend is Memorial Day weekend, and it’s been raining all weekend.  The weatherman’s predicted sunshine  never made it through the clouds, and aside from a half day break in the rain on Sunday, it’s pretty much been solid rain since Thursday afternoon.  All this rain means the grass is growing and the pasture needs another cutting.  A trip outside to feed and water the chickens requires waterproof footwear, and I’ve graduated to the Wellies now, as even the ankle high duck shoes were leaving the bottoms of my jeans soaked.  The good news is it’s warmed up a bit, so it’s not quite so miserable as it was last week – cold AND wet, brrr.  Today it’s warm, almost tropical, and with a rain slicker and waterproof pants, it’s a lovely day for a nice hike in the ubiquitous liquid sunshine of the Pacific Northwest.  And the thing about the rain, is it decreases the human activity outside.  This makes it quieter and tranquil, and the birdsong becomes the prevailing sound instead of motors. 

If there’s one drawback on my little farm it’s the noise.  I knew it when I purchased the home.  I first viewed it in August on a beautiful sunny Saturday.  After having looked for nearly two years, I was searching for the perfect place and not finding it.  There was always something not quite “it” with the many places I viewed, whether a combination of small, but individually surmountable, drawbacks, or one or more “fatal flaws” (power transmission lines intersecting or adjacent to property, for instance), it seemed like I was finding something wrong with everything I looked at.  I was beginning to think I was being too picky in a subconscious effort to avoid making a decision (yeh, lots of head games with myself). 

On that sunny day I could hear the road noise and hesitated.  The road in front of the house is somewhat busy, but the house is set back quite a ways from the road, with a wide copse of trees and underbrush running the length of the property.  A half mile away is a state highway – two lanes from Monroe south to Fall City, then east to Redmond.  It’s a beautiful stretch of highway, and a vital link through the valley farmlands.  And of course there’s the accompanying road noise.  Thankfully both the realtor and the good friend who’d come with me to view the home placated me with the fact that it wasn’t so bad, I’d get used to it, and suggested that I could put a fountain in the small pond out front.  For what is road noise but white noise?  If I lived next to the ocean it would be noisy 24/7.  At least here the noise is nearly non-existant at night. 

So it wasn’t a fatal flaw for purchasing the home when there was so much else that was just right, including the Bald eagle that circled overhead as we prepared to leave that day, but it’s still an irritant to me – I freely admit I’m a bit of a noise freak.  Inside the home is fine and I hear very little, if any, road noise.  But on sunny weekends, when I’m likely to be outside working, they come out in droves: those from the populated areas – Seattle and environs – coming out for various attractions – farmstands, fishing, hiking, biking, kayaking, etc.  And with these droves comes my biggest peeve, the touring packs of motorcycles.  In twos and threes, fives and eights, even 20 or more (must have been a club gathering) on Harleys and crotch rockets, they blast down the highway, accelerating out of town with their abominable four stroke engines amplified with the BRAAAAAAAP of sound exaggerating pipes.  I’m sure it’s a lovely way to travel on a beautiful warm day, but really, do you have to come out here to do it?  I had a co-worker recently share, when she found out where I lived,  how she and her hubby and their friends love to take their motorcycles out on the weekends and ride the roads in my area.  I smiled politely through gritted teeth as she even described how her brother-in-law told them about this great loop to take – take this side road that veers off the highway just out of town and follow it out and around.  She was, of course, describing the road I live on.  Which would account for the repeated loops some of the packs make, two and three times past my house, sending the bird dog into a frenzy (he seems to dislike them – or something – as much as I detest them), as I snarl and gesture in frustration toward the offending noise.  Oh well.  I guess it’s the price we pay for the place being nearly perfect in every other way.  And, to put a positive spin on it: road traffic means customers.  When I get to the production stage of the farm, it will be nice to have a steady supply of potential customers for the little farm stand I can put out by the side of the road.  In the meantime, I’m enjoying hearing the birds sing on this wet weekend.

Postscript: shortly after I originally posted this, the clouds parted and the sun came out.  The hens all collapsed in an ecstacy of sunbathing and the last five hours of daylight were a glory of green jungle in the sun.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Holiday rain

  1. Karen Hertz on said:

    Wow. You really are living in some kind of a paradise, Maureen. And I agree with you about those loud chopper motorcyles, though I would not have said it so nicely. My thought towards those bikers would probably be, “Shut the ef up with your loud motorcycles out here in the quiet part of the world!” I really can not stand loud bikes, cars, trucks, jet skies, snowmobiles, any of those annoying toys. But I still think you found a great piece of land for a nice price. I am so happy for you, Maureen. I can’t wait to come out and check things out. We will have to have a reunion with Carla one of these days. I still remember how much FUN I had with you two that night, talking and laughing into the wee hours over delicious red wine. So fun! Wishing you a productive and happy week, Maureen. 🙂

  2. mcfwriter on said:

    I’m with you, Karen, on all of those – I especially dislike those intended for off road use. You go up to the mountains to get away from it all, and a dirt bike or, in winter, snowmobile simply destroys the peace and tranquility you crave in the wilderness.

    I edited this for publication – my original words were much more pointed. 😉 I too detest the noise factor, and wish I had a surface to air missile for the small plane that practices loop-de-loops over the valley on weekend days. The good news is, though, I just got back inside from the last call potty run with the dogs, and all I heard was the stream that runs down the south border of the property. And if not for the rains this week, I probably wouldn’t even have heard that (it’s running pretty full right now, so a little loud with the running water sounds).

    And yes, red wine with Carla is a must the next time you’re in town. Maybe around a little campfire out back!

  3. Pingback: It’s shocking « Mo Bloggin’

Leave a Reply

The First Ten Words by Rich Larson

Because a guy has to keep his chops sharp

George Lakoff

George Lakoff has retired as Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Linguistics at the University of California at Berkeley. He is now Director of the Center for the Neural Mind & Society (cnms.berkeley.edu).

valbjerke's Blog

Real Life Random Ramblings

psychologistmimi

Food, Road Trips & Notes from the Non-Profit Underground

Citizens for Duvall

A grass roots group that gives a voice to its citizens outside of city council meetings.

Pet Zoo Kibbutz Shiller

Adventures of a pet zoo keeper

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finisterre

Trish the Dish

Keeping Our Family's Bellies FULL... One Dish at a Time

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Hen Corner

A little bit of country life in West London...

morrisbrookfarm

Going back...a return to rural life

Relaena's Travels

Eternal Journeys of a Curious Mind

The Global Warmers

8 dogs, 2 elderly adults and an aging RV

Fiber Trek ™

A TV show Connecting Community, Craft, Fiber and Farms

Brookfield Farm Bees & Honey Blog

musings on bees, life, & nature near Mt. Baker Washington

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

ella gordon

textile maker

Jenny Bruso

An Unlikely Hiker Blog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Squash Practice

A Growing Concern

Food, Farming and Faith in Snohomish County

Icelandic Fiber Farming in Cascadia

Carol Lea Benjamin on Dogs

Understanding dogs and the many roles they play in our lives

Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Living Your Sacred Livelihood

Weaving the Wisdom in Nature with Possibility Practices

Chris Morgan's Wildnotes

A BLOG of pictures and thoughts from the field

Denise Fenzi

a professional dog trainer specializing in relationship-building in competitive dog sport teams

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

Black Sheep Creamery

Artisan Sheep Cheese, Wool and Lambs

Woolyadventures's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

flippity felts

Curious and Quirky needle felts from deepest darkest Devon

Single Life, With Puppy

Suddenly single at 55; what to do but get a puppy?

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

Karen Maezen Miller's Cheerio Road

A little o' this, a little o' that

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Adventures in Natural Beekeeping

Bees, Hives, Swarms, and Everything under the Sun

CARROT QUINN

dispatches from the wild

The KiltLander's Blog

JP's Outlander Recaps and other perspectives from the Dirk Side

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

