Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Solstice musings

It’s December 20, and I have done just about zero with regard to Christmas shopping.  I tried to go Christmas shopping over this past weekend, but didn’t get too far before I threw in the towel.  I think I’ll have to shoot for New Year’s gifts at this point.  And I’m okay with that.  As mentioned in my previous post, I’ve got a few things going on right now and know that piling on more isn’t going to work.  My brain is elsewhere.  

Another factor in my stress level is the ongoing, seemingly never-ending construction project.  I hired Rob (the same fellow who fenced off the pasture for me in September) to build a confinement area for my sheep – a 30 x 40 pen and shed (the shed is basically an extension of the garage roof, so not too elaborate, by design) to get them off the pasture and out of the weather.  I called him at the end of October.  He got started in mid-November.  Right now it will be a Christmas miracle if it’s finished by the end of the year.  There are so many things about this that are bugging me that I don’t know where to start, but suffice it to say the time it’s taking is the primary factor.  This has been compounded by the fact that we’ve had some hellacious weather in the past month, where I was near tears (okay, in tears) over the fact that my sheep had no shelter.  The snow over Thanksgiving was no problem – the sheep stay warm with their thick woolen coats, and the snow just piles up on them, insulated as they are by the wool.  It’s the rain that bothers me.  They seem to handle it okay, but to see them out there in the pounding rain (and it has come down by the bucketful for a couple of weekends) and howling winds, with next to no cover, well, I’m feeling all kinds of terrible about my caretaking – I never should have gotten these animals before I had things built.  I just had no idea this job would take in excess of six weeks, and I suppose it’s my own fault for not clarifying things from the beginning.  

On the plus side, these little guys seem to be doing okay, however awful I feel about their lack of cover.  I called tonight to inquire about “how soon”, and hopefully my inquiry will spur faster work.  I realize that Rob has other commitments, but it’s time to prioritize.  He does nice work, but timely completion is important too. 

Besides the snow over Thanksgiving, we’ve had several very wet storm patterns come through, with several days where rainfall records were set, and the ubiquitous fall flooding last week (the snowfall and flood pattern is backwards this year, as we usually have flooding in late November; and it ain’t over yet, either).  The valley flooded, with the river coming over its banks and several area roads closed due to overtop flooding.  This meant that my evening commute more than doubled to two hours in length.  My regular commute route was flood free, but many of the other arterials were not, so it was gridlock as everyone tried to get home by the same two-lane road. 

My place was fine, though I was a bit astounded at the amount of water flowing down the hill.  The northeast side of the property is a county designated wetland, and the drainage during the downpour turned the whole north side of the pasture into a torrent of water, much of it in weird underground streams that gushed up like small geysers in several spots.  There’s still a lot of water flowing down the hill, though most all of it is underground at this point, and the geyser action has abated.  The underground streams are bizarre to me, and it can be a bit nerve-racking walk the fence line or pasture in that area, listening to the water flow under your feet.  What surprised me even more than this area, though, was the water flat out flowing down the hill behind the house.  The entire chicken run was a 25 foot wide watercourse, and water flowed under the coop too, all of it heading for the wetlands gully to become part of the north side drainage.  Thankfully not at flow volumes or directed enough to do any undermining of the coop itself, but still disconcerting.  The back yard behind the house was drenched, with 3 or 4 inches of standing water in places.  And the year-round stream on the south side of the property was a raging froth of brown water as the flooded banks sloughed off.  I know it’s only December – solstice tomorrow – and we’ll get more of this kind of weather a few more times over the coming months.  I only hope my sheep are under cover by then.  

As the year winds up, and we experience the solstice lunar eclipse tonight, I’m thankful for the great year that was 2010.  For me it looks like 2010 will close out with as big a bang as it came in with (new home purchase and move in January), as Cutter’s bright light wanes and fades out on this plane.  There was lot of joy this year, as well as this near-unbearable sadness now, but I’m so grateful for the time I had with my buddy as I eek out the last days with him in his physical form.  It’s been quite a ride.  

I’m looking forward to a fabulous 2011.  I have big plans and more big dreams to come true.  Stay tuned.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

The First Ten Words by Rich Larson

Because a guy has to keep his chops sharp

George Lakoff

George Lakoff has retired as Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Linguistics at the University of California at Berkeley. He is now Director of the Center for the Neural Mind & Society (cnms.berkeley.edu).

valbjerke's Blog

Real Life Random Ramblings

psychologistmimi

Food, Road Trips & Notes from the Non-Profit Underground

Citizens for Duvall

A grass roots group that gives a voice to its citizens outside of city council meetings.

Pet Zoo Kibbutz Shiller

Adventures of a pet zoo keeper

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finisterre

Trish the Dish

Keeping Our Family's Bellies FULL... One Dish at a Time

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Hen Corner

A little bit of country life in West London...

morrisbrookfarm

Going back...a return to rural life

Relaena's Travels

Eternal Journeys of a Curious Mind

The Global Warmers

8 dogs, 2 elderly adults and an aging RV

Fiber Trek ™

A TV show Connecting Community, Craft, Fiber and Farms

Brookfield Farm Bees & Honey Blog

musings on bees, life, & nature near Mt. Baker Washington

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

ella gordon

textile maker

Jenny Bruso

An Unlikely Hiker Blog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Squash Practice

A Growing Concern

Food, Farming and Faith in Snohomish County

Icelandic Fiber Farming in Cascadia

Carol Lea Benjamin on Dogs

Understanding dogs and the many roles they play in our lives

Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Living Your Sacred Livelihood

Weaving the Wisdom in Nature with Possibility Practices

Chris Morgan's Wildnotes

A BLOG of pictures and thoughts from the field

Denise Fenzi

a professional dog trainer specializing in relationship-building in competitive dog sport teams

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

Black Sheep Creamery

Artisan Sheep Cheese, Wool and Lambs

Woolyadventures's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

flippity felts

Needle felt designs and tutorials by Gabby Dexter

Single Life, With Puppy

Suddenly single at 55; what to do but get a puppy?

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

Karen Maezen Miller's Cheerio Road

A little o' this, a little o' that

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Adventures in Natural Beekeeping

Bees, Hives, Swarms, and Everything under the Sun

CARROT QUINN

dispatches from the wild

The KiltLander's Blog

JP's Outlander Recaps and other perspectives from the Dirk Side

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

