Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

March musings

It rained hard all day today, with only a few breaks in the downpour.  I woke up late due to the time change (Spring forward) and the hour lost, so it was officially 9:45 before the dogs ate breakfast. Crawling back into bed for a lazy Sunday morning read with tea seemed to be the best start to the dreary day. I’m again thankful for the giant skylight I had installed last year with my roof replacement; even on this cloudy, grey day my bedroom is bathed in light. I’m finishing a great book by a woman named Lynn Reardon about the rescue and rehab she created for ex-racehorses in Texas. It’s called Beyond the Homestretch and was one of those books at the library that was pulled out for highlighting in their shelf-end “interesting picks.” (Librarys ROCK!) It’s an enjoyable read, with the highs and lows associated with rescue work of any kind but without preachiness or crusading-speak (a turn off), and damned funny in places too. An ex-accountant, Ms. Reardon is a terrific writer as well as horse rescuer.

I looked at my chore list, deciding what I should do first. Much of it is the ongoing stuff, with a lot of seasonal additions as well. I picked up my (bee)hive boxes yesterday, and stopped off and got a quart of paint for painting them. The paint color is called Shocking Green, and it’s sort of a neon green with a hint of chartreuse mixed in. I hope it won’t be too garish, sitting out by the garden (I plan to embellish with some stenciled or hand-painted vines and flowers – for my stylin beehive), and even more important, I hope my bees like it. They’re due to arrive in mid-April. I ordered four pounds, which is the queen and several thousand of her workers. It was only $10 more for four pounds versus three pounds, and though I know most of the experienced beekeepers say the extra pound of workers doesn’t make that much of a difference, I figured the more workers the better, to start with. I mean, they’re already handicapped with me as a new beekeeper, so the more advantages I can give them, the better chances they’ll have. I’ll have to bone up on my YouTube vids of how to transfer them from their traveling cage into their new home. I purchased my bee veil and gloves, too. I got a veil that’s part of a half-suit, rather than the full suit (where you look like you’re going out to battle haz-mat or infectious disease), with the most important component being the veil itself. A body sting is doable, but a face sting, and especially an eye-sting, could be very bad. I can’t remember the last time I was stung by a honeybee, and even my last yellowjacket sting has probably been more than a decade ago. Hopefully my Carniolan bees will do well for me and be easy to work with.

Sheep shearing was last week and though it got done it was a bit of a rodeo. We did Cinnamon first, since she’s the wildest, and it set off a chain reaction of panic with all the rest.  Thankfully Eifion, an experienced shearer who comes all the way from Wales each year, has done this a time or two, and was able to catch and wrassle each one of them in turn.  It was a good lesson though, and I do plan to build at least one stall in the confinement area (right now it’s just an open shed) so I can enclose them for this and other reasons, as needed.   

After shearing, they all look nekkid and a bit chilly, in Cinnamon’s case (for some reason she’s the only one I’ve noticed shivering).  She was so glorious with her full fleece, and now she looks gangly and awkward.  And little Pebbles is even tinier than I thought.  I managed to catch her and pick her up the other day (she was up on the porch chasing the gimpy hen, which she loves to do); she’s maybe 50 pounds, 60 pounds max.  Of all of them Cinnamon had the nicest fleece – clean and nice and crimpy, rather than the tangled and burr-filled fleece of Pebbles (whose fleece is definitely the softest), or the choppy, broken fleeces of the boys.  All three of the boys have been itching for two months and rubbing against everything.  Bo and especially Curly were using their horns to dig at itchy spots on their backs, and completely ruined the integrity of the fleece (normally it should roll out as a single unit after it’s been sheared off, but theirs is broken and filled with vegetable matter (VM) to boot.  I still need to process the fleece before the dampness in the garage ruins them entirely.  It’s been so miserably wet and chilly recently that I’ve been reluctant to go out and skirt them, never mind get them washed and ready for further processing.  From there, I’ll be felting slippers for Christmas presents (tee hee).  And working on making sure next year’s fleeces are in tip top shape.  

My other sheepy news is the hay feeding solution I recently discovered.  Ever since they’ve been in their confinement area (to keep them off the pasture during the winter months, so the pasture has a chance to recover) I’ve been feeding grass hay.  I do let them out to run around on nice weekend days (and it doesn’t look like today will be one of them).  They look longingly into the pasture, but roam around and browse the grass and vegetation around the house and property with obvious enjoyment.  The rest of the time, though, it’s hay.  I knew I’d be feeding hay, and knew of the price per bale (anywhere from $13 to $22, depending on feed store and the hay shipment itself – where it’s from, how heavy the bale, etc.), but had no idea I’d be going through a bale a week.  That’s more than I spend on dog and cat food each week!  

I was feeding them on the ground, as I hadn’t found a feeder that fit all my criteria: easy to install, low waste, reduced chance of VM in fleece, and minimal “real estate” used in my small set up.  Of course feeding them on the ground meant that roughly one third of each bale was ending up as bedding as they walked through it and dragged it around.  I purchased a wall mount hay feeder at the feed store and realized as soon as I got it home that it wasn’t going to work (it wasn’t cheap, either), so returned it the next week.  I had an old hay net feeder I purchased years ago as a prop in a holiday-themed cubicle decoration contest at work (I won), so tried that.  The mesh was so large they emptied it overnight, much of it ending up on the ground.  I checked Craigslist regularly and scoured the Internet for suitable feeders, coming up with slow feeders for horses (too big and too expensive) and a fellow in Virginia who was no longer making his perfectly designed sheep/goat hay feeder.  Then one day on a visit to Craigslist I found an ad placed by Equinets.  I contacted the proprietor via the website, explaining my need.  She lives close to where I work and we discussed what might work.  I picked up a small and a medium net a couple of weeks ago, and installed them the following weekend.  It’s like a miracle.  Within one day I knew I’d found the solution.  

Not only is the waste next to zero, it’s also provided them with hay 24/7, as is natural, rather than the loud baaing for food every time they saw me or heard the front door open, and the attendant feeding frenzy of me coming out with several flakes of hay three times a day.  They are quiet and content, and everybody gets to eat when they want to eat (the girls were sometimes bullied away from the hay when I fed it on the ground, which meant I had to put down multiple piles, which increased the waste ratio).  I rarely hear them baaing now (though they are still trying to train me to give them grain on demand) and are often all lying down, quietly chewing cud when I go out there to check on them.  I fill the two nets once a day – the smaller one is usually nearly empty, and the larger one still about half full – and right now am still going through hay at about the same rate, but the good thing is it’s not as bedding!  In fact, I’m considering buying some straw for bedding now, to absorb manure and urine and they still have some cushion after I’ve cleaned up their waste. Filling them once a day eliminates that chore in the mornings, too, when I’m often already rushed to make it to work.  Now I can just replenish the nets in the evening, make sure their water bucket is full, and in the morning just check to make sure they’re all content and well before I leave for work.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “March musings

  1. Wow, aren’t you the farm girl! I painted my gate that same green. Love it.

  2. Well, my last comment went to you under one of my clients’ names– sorry bout that. Now I’m logged in as me. I administrate a number of blogs and sites 🙂

Leave a Reply

The First Ten Words by Rich Larson

Because a guy has to keep his chops sharp

George Lakoff

George Lakoff has retired as Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Linguistics at the University of California at Berkeley. He is now Director of the Center for the Neural Mind & Society (cnms.berkeley.edu).

valbjerke's Blog

Real Life Random Ramblings

psychologistmimi

Food, Road Trips & Notes from the Non-Profit Underground

Citizens for Duvall

A grass roots group that gives a voice to its citizens outside of city council meetings.

Pet Zoo Kibbutz Shiller

Adventures of a pet zoo keeper

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finisterre

Trish the Dish

Keeping Our Family's Bellies FULL... One Dish at a Time

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Hen Corner

A little bit of country life in West London...

morrisbrookfarm

Going back...a return to rural life

Relaena's Travels

Eternal Journeys of a Curious Mind

The Global Warmers

8 dogs, 2 elderly adults and an aging RV

Fiber Trek ™

A TV show Connecting Community, Craft, Fiber and Farms

Brookfield Farm Bees & Honey Blog

musings on bees, life, & nature near Mt. Baker Washington

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

ella gordon

textile maker

Jenny Bruso

An Unlikely Hiker Blog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Squash Practice

A Growing Concern

Food, Farming and Faith in Snohomish County

Icelandic Fiber Farming in Cascadia

Carol Lea Benjamin on Dogs

Understanding dogs and the many roles they play in our lives

Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Living Your Sacred Livelihood

Weaving the Wisdom in Nature with Possibility Practices

Chris Morgan's Wildnotes

A BLOG of pictures and thoughts from the field

Denise Fenzi

a professional dog trainer specializing in relationship-building in competitive dog sport teams

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

Black Sheep Creamery

Artisan Sheep Cheese, Wool and Lambs

Woolyadventures's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

flippity felts

Needle felt designs and tutorials by Gabby Dexter

Single Life, With Puppy

Suddenly single at 55; what to do but get a puppy?

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

Karen Maezen Miller's Cheerio Road

A little o' this, a little o' that

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Adventures in Natural Beekeeping

Bees, Hives, Swarms, and Everything under the Sun

CARROT QUINN

dispatches from the wild

The KiltLander's Blog

JP's Outlander Recaps and other perspectives from the Dirk Side

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

