Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

12 years, 7 months, 8 days

For the first time in nearly 26 years, I am without a Rottweiler or two (or three or four) by my side.  My beloved, darling Dinah is gone.

Sweet Dinah Here I am again, a mere three months after Cutter, grieving, with my sweet girl gone only a week now.  She was ready to go last week, and I finally had to concede.  She was the longest lived Rottweiler I ever had, by over a month (Cutter held the title for only three months).  In my weakness, my inability to let go, I probably waited a day longer than I should have.  Some would say a week longer, and still others would have put her down within weeks of her cancer diagnosis back in October.  She was uncomfortable as the dual tumors grew on her rear leg, even with multiple pain medications, and it had come down to her refusing all food.  She was always a bit of a finicky eater – I used to tease her when she was a baby, telling her there’s no way she could be a purebred Rottweiler because of her discriminating palate.  (Most Rottweilers are of the “eat first, ask questions later” school of thought.)  But even the fresh scrambled eggs – the only thing she would eat for me that last week – were no longer enough to entice her.  I carried her to the car – she was too weak to walk on her own, and we made the drive to the ER (it was a Sunday).  It was over quickly, and I drove home with the tears streaming down my face and my beloved, sweet baby so very still in the back of my car.  I was back at Precious Pets Animal Crematory the next day, much sooner than I wanted to be after Cutter, but again so very thankful for them.

I knew this day would come, even when she was running around like a little crazydog at age one (she was easily the most active Rottweiler puppy I’d ever had, and made me a little crazy at times) but how did twelve years go by so quickly?  A lot happened in that decade-plus, and all of it was better for having her with me.

She was the sweetest, gentlest, kindest little dog I’ve ever had the pleasure of sharing my life with.  She wagged her stub tail whenever she was happy, and more than any Rottweiler I’ve ever had.  She had the best recall, right from the very start, and would come to me at a dead run whenever I called her, every time.  It was wonderful.  She loved to run, and would do laps around the yard just for the joy of running (but it was always more fun if she could get someone – dog or human – to chase her).  She used to roll on her back to get my attention, and I remember looking over from whatever was absorbing my attention (a phone call, or working on the computer, or reading) to see her, belly up, watching me upside down.  Of course it was irresistible, and would immediately shift my attention to her.  I used to chant/sing to her when we cuddled, Bay-be, Bay-be, Bay-by, my Babygirl.

She came to live with me at three months of age, and was with me as I said goodbye to Wil, then Trinah (her mentor), and soaked up all my emotions to become my little doppelganger.  We drifted for a time, until first Jake, then Cutter burst into our lives and made us both smile again.  Jake belonged to friends, and I had the pleasure of keeping him when they went on trips.  She loved her boys.

After Cutter’s epilepsy was diagnosed and then progressed, life became harder for her.  She wasn’t an alpha dog, but had to fill that position as the only female and with Cutter not 100%.  He loved her to bits, and followed her around like a baby elephant, which alternately bolstered her and burdened her.  I relied on her to help me with him, and would often call her to me when I needed him to come while we were outside.  He did what he wanted, and came only if it suited him.  She came every time, and since he followed her everywhere it was a win-win, for me…  It weighed heavily on her, and the move in 2007 from Sammamish to Carnation was very difficult for her worried little heart.  She wouldn’t come out of her crate for 10 days, and when I coaxed her outside to go potty she’d run to the car and wait for us to “go home.”  I had to feed her in the crate for the first week, until she felt brave enough to eat in the kitchen with the boys.  The move from Carnation to Fall City was another trauma, and her health began to deteriorate as her worries increased.  When we finally made it here last year, on our own home and acreage, it was all too much.  She did well at first, then withdrew when various workers I had here (roofers, fencing) left her feeling vulnerable.  I couldn’t be here every minute, and feel bad that these intruders increased her worries and feeling of danger.  I did it all for her, and the boys, but in her dotage she couldn’t enjoy it.

Her soft, sweet heart made her seem weak, but she was so brave, even through her worries and fears, and tough where it counted, when it counted.  My beautiful Babygirl, you’ll always be my Baby.

So I am Rottweilerless, and while I know the next one will come along at the right time, I miss my sweet Babygirl and my Cutter both – they were such a pair, and such an important part of my life.  I am the luckiest girl in the world for having had them.

Darkwind’s Dynamo V Gettelin
8/26/98 – 4/3/11
My little Dinah-doo, Dooey-doo, my sweet heart, my babygirl

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “12 years, 7 months, 8 days

  1. Sylvia Dingwall McClelland on said:

    Maureen,
    I’m drying my tears now. I didn’t realize you lost Cutter a few months ago too. My deepest condolences on the passing of Dinah, and Cutter.
    We should get together again for coffee sometime. How long has it been now?
    ((hugs))
    Sylvia

  2. I Maureen I am sobbing right now feeling your pain. I can’t imagine losing 2 so close together. I wish I had words to help you with you pain but mine is so fresh I feel useless. I am so sorry for you loss. Hugs.

  3. Pingback: Naming conventions « Mo Bloggin’

  4. Pingback: Welcome 2012! « Mo Bloggin'

Leave a Reply

The First Ten Words by Rich Larson

Because a guy has to keep his chops sharp

George Lakoff

George Lakoff has retired as Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Linguistics at the University of California at Berkeley. He is now Director of the Center for the Neural Mind & Society (cnms.berkeley.edu).

valbjerke's Blog

Real Life Random Ramblings

psychologistmimi

Food, Road Trips & Notes from the Non-Profit Underground

Citizens for Duvall

A grass roots group that gives a voice to its citizens outside of city council meetings.

Pet Zoo Kibbutz Shiller

Adventures of a pet zoo keeper

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finisterre

Trish the Dish

Keeping Our Family's Bellies FULL... One Dish at a Time

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Hen Corner

A little bit of country life in West London...

morrisbrookfarm

Going back...a return to rural life

Relaena's Travels

Eternal Journeys of a Curious Mind

The Global Warmers

8 dogs, 2 elderly adults and an aging RV

Fiber Trek ™

A TV show Connecting Community, Craft, Fiber and Farms

Brookfield Farm Bees & Honey Blog

musings on bees, life, & nature near Mt. Baker Washington

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

ella gordon

textile maker

Jenny Bruso

An Unlikely Hiker Blog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Squash Practice

A Growing Concern

Food, Farming and Faith in Snohomish County

Icelandic Fiber Farming in Cascadia

Carol Lea Benjamin on Dogs

Understanding dogs and the many roles they play in our lives

Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Living Your Sacred Livelihood

Weaving the Wisdom in Nature with Possibility Practices

Chris Morgan's Wildnotes

A BLOG of pictures and thoughts from the field

Denise Fenzi

a professional dog trainer specializing in relationship-building in competitive dog sport teams

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

Black Sheep Creamery

Artisan Sheep Cheese, Wool and Lambs

Woolyadventures's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

flippity felts

Needle felt designs and tutorials by Gabby Dexter

Single Life, With Puppy

Suddenly single at 55; what to do but get a puppy?

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

Karen Maezen Miller's Cheerio Road

A little o' this, a little o' that

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Adventures in Natural Beekeeping

Bees, Hives, Swarms, and Everything under the Sun

CARROT QUINN

dispatches from the wild

The KiltLander's Blog

JP's Outlander Recaps and other perspectives from the Dirk Side

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

