Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Welcome 2012!

Like most everyone at this time of year, I’m looking at the brand new year with a mixture of reflection on what’s just past, and the eternal hope for what’s to come. This year started off much differently than last year, with a mild day and sunshine in the afternoon. On January 1 last year, everything was frozen solid, and I said goodbye to my beloved Cutter that day. I can hardly believe it’s been a full year already.  I still remember that last, awful night with him, not sleeping as I listened to him, and knowing what the morning held for me. I didn’t let it color my year overmuch, or believe that the rest of the year would be just as awful, but there’s no denying that 2011 was one I won’t forget. With Dinah’s passing only three months after Cutter, the dye was set for that.  Daisy’s arrival nearly two months later has had me smiling once again (and sometimes pulling my hair out, I won’t lie 😉 ), but the loss of those two beauties, one who became an iconic, life changing part of me, is still painful.  Then there’s the loss of two of my cats in July.  I can still barely speak of Jasper – it took a week to sink in, but once it did…  Yeah, it’s been one for the books.

On the upside, I’m sitting here in the quiet of my little home with my three beloved canines on the sofa, and the remaining cat sitting behind me on the chair, purring if I so much as look at him or shift my seat in the chair. Sometimes I just have to pinch myself that this little place is really mine, that I have a small acreage, just like I’ve always wanted, with livestock and a big garden as I’ve always dreamed.  Growing up my family never owned our own home; we always rented and I have many memories of strangers coming through the home(s) we rented, viewing it as potential buyers, then having to move when the landlord(s) sold it.  Being fortunate enough to own my little farm–almost the dream farm I want–is something I don’t take lightly.  I continue to dream of course, and have things I want to do (work from home, grow/make/sell products that originate here) or acquire (I’d just about give my eye teeth for a mudroom in this little place – the slop the dogs bring in is epic – and a pickup truck is definitely on the agenda; being able to haul my sheep, or more than one bale of hay at a time, or a load of gravel or compost… yeah, a girl can dream), in an ever-evolving life and goals.

As we look ahead to 2012, I hope for a better economy and a political process that is less contentious and more aware.  I’ve not engaged in political talk on this blog, but the current state of affairs, with polarization having become so ingrained in our political process – it’s no longer about the good of the country, or the good of the people, it’s about us vs. them – I’m disheartened and weary.  A friend emigrated to Canada four years ago and I’ve become more and more envious and interested in the past several years.  We have so much potential, yet are so mired in the petty and the absurd.  I am hopeful that the Occupy movement will continue to evolve into something we all can appreciate and join in, to make things better for all.  I don’t want revolution so much as evolution (though unfortunately humans can’t seem to manage the latter without the former) and an understanding by all of what’s really happening and what’s at stake.  And with the knowledge will come the ability to turn it around.  I am hopeful. 

I’ve received a couple of seed catalogs in the past few weeks, so am of course drooling over the many varieties of vegetables I want to grow this year.  My garden was a big part of my year in 2011; the prep work, the planting, and then the harvesting of, a bounty that seemed magical in its almost endless abundance.  Jack and the beanstalk was a piker compared to my King Kale!  The success of the garden was life affirming and one of those things that make you realize what really matters to you.  I’m looking forward to expanding my patch this year, trying some different plantings, growing new varieties of ones I love, and really getting my medicinal herb garden underway.  And strengthening my connection to the land. 

My beehive was another little earthquake in my awareness last year.  It heightened my reverence for life, for nature, and for its relevance in my life.  I fell in love with 40,000 honeybees in April and am still as excited as the day I brought them home.  They’ve been out a few days over the holiday season – we had some odd snatches of mild weather in between freezing cold and torrential rains – and I was so glad to see them again.  When I came home from an errand on New Year’s Day there were so many out and flying it almost looked like a summer evening. I was thrilled to see so many of them.  I’m resisting opening the hive to take a peek (it hasn’t been that warm!), but will do so as soon as possible in the coming months.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed that they’re surviving okay (there have been plenty of dead soldiers, though not an excessive amount…I don’t think) and have plenty of honey stores to make it through the next couple of months – or until I can open things up and put in the feeder for them.  I am looking forward to becoming more knowledgeable about beekeeping (time and experience, after all) and maybe even adding a second hive this spring.  I heart my honeybees!

So as we begin this new year, I continue to count my blessings – Pal and Daisy are now playing in the next room, Daisy sounding so much like a Wookie that I swear I should have named her Chewbacca.  She’s such a tomboy, and of the bull-in-a-china-shop variety, that I sometimes wonder if I “picked” the right name for her.  Farley is close beside me, his countenance so appealing and endearing that I have a hard time restraining myself.  The slightest of glances at him has his tail wagging, thumping the floor and happy.  And always ready to play.  Or for a treat.  The sheep are munching hay in their shed, protected from the drenching rain of the past week.  The chickens are roosting in their coop, snug and warm.  And we all dream of our perfect future to come. 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Welcome 2012!

  1. I am so happy you got Daisy, even with all her antics she definitely is entertaining 🙂
    Your farm is the perfect size and so loved it is special to watch the adventures of you and your animals.
    The polarization of politics is awful. Even among friends I have to be careful as people are so quick to defend to “the death” every point and everything has to be so black and white. I wish we could work together as a country and a people to help each other. I can disagree with someone but feel that we could still work towards a common goal…
    I look forward to further stories of your farm adventures and hope the mild winter will help the bees have a good first year.

  2. mcfwriter on said:

    I agree, Bliss; I find myself completely turned off by those on “the other side,” even in rational discussions (which says more about me than anything else). I am always willing to listen to another’s viewpoint, but will not tolerate willful ignorance and tearing down of our president without due process (repeating untruths and creating issues where there aren’t any). The system, and the people in it, aren’t perfect, but the current obstructionism (as I see it) serves no one, and certainly not anyone in the 99%.

    And I’m so glad I got Daisy too – she’s a little firecracker, and keeps me on my toes!

Leave a Reply

The First Ten Words by Rich Larson

Because a guy has to keep his chops sharp

George Lakoff

George Lakoff has retired as Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Linguistics at the University of California at Berkeley. He is now Director of the Center for the Neural Mind & Society (cnms.berkeley.edu).

valbjerke's Blog

Real Life Random Ramblings

psychologistmimi

Food, Road Trips & Notes from the Non-Profit Underground

Citizens for Duvall

A grass roots group that gives a voice to its citizens outside of city council meetings.

Pet Zoo Kibbutz Shiller

Adventures of a pet zoo keeper

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finisterre

Trish the Dish

Keeping Our Family's Bellies FULL.... One Dish at a Time

KURT★BRINDLEY

writing ★ producing ★ editing

Hen Corner

A little bit of country life in West London...

morrisbrookfarm

Going back...a return to rural life

Relaena's Travels

Eternal Journeys of a Curious Mind

The Global Warmers

8 dogs, 2 elderly adults and an aging RV

Fiber Trek ™

A TV show Connecting Community, Craft, Fiber and Farms

Brookfield Farm Bees & Honey Blog

musings on bees, life, & nature near Mt. Baker Washington

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

ella gordon

textile maker

Jenny Bruso

An Unlikely Hiker Blog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Squash Practice

A Growing Concern

Food, Farming and Faith in Snohomish County

Icelandic Fiber Farming in Cascadia

Carol Lea Benjamin on Dogs

Understanding dogs and the many roles they play in our lives

Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Living Your Sacred Livelihood

Weaving the Wisdom in Nature with Possibility Practices

Chris Morgan's Wildnotes

A BLOG of pictures and thoughts from the field

Denise Fenzi

a professional dog trainer specializing in relationship-building in competitive dog sport teams

Black Sheep Creamery

Artisan Sheep Cheese, Wool and Lambs

Woolyadventures's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

flippity felts

Curious and Quirky needle felts from deepest darkest Devon

Single Life, With Puppy

Suddenly single at 55; what to do but get a puppy?

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

Karen Maezen Miller's Cheerio Road

A little o' this, a little o' that

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Adventures in Natural Beekeeping

Bees, Hives, Swarms, and Everything under the Sun

CARROT QUINN

dispatches from the wild

The KiltLander's Blog

JP's Outlander Recaps and other perspectives from the Dirk Side

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

