Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

The story so far: 2012 and me

I didn’t really set any New Year’s resolutions this year.  I find that they only make me feel bad about myself when I don’t accomplish them, or fizzle out on them (the perennial “lose weight and get in shape” being the worst offender).  Nevertheless, the year has been busy so far, and I’m committed to getting things done and making things happen.  Instead of talking about doing things, I’m taking steps toward doing them. 

As mentioned in my previous post, I’ve been taking classes like crazy.  This is partly because they all seem to be presenting themselves now (coincidence?) and I just can’t pass up the opportunities.  Even so there are plenty I’m missing due to conflicts or just plain no time.  So far there was my felting class in January, and then a week later was the WSU Extension Country Living Expo and Cattleman’s Winterschool.  It was the third or fourth year I’d attended the Winterschool and again enjoyed it immensely.  It’s a day long series of workshops, each an hour or so in length, and for every session time there are dozens of topics to choose from.  I again had a hard time deciding what workshops to take but just decided to focus on a topic – the sheep – and stuck with things pertaining to that all day long.  My first class was taught by a veterinarian who teaches at WSU veterinary school and was all about the rumen (the four chambered stomach of sheep, goats, and cattle).  The next class was the same instructor, all about sheep diseases and ailments.  Both classes were crammed with info, and while I knew the basics, this extra information just made me want to know more.  Then it was off to the Preparing for Lambing class.  Since it’s been a long time since I raised kids (of the goat variety) I needed the refresher course, and it was excellent (again taught by a veterinary professor at WSU), with lots of information and tips to be ready.  After lunch was a marketing class that wasn’t as good as I wanted, though I did learn that there are a lot of licenses needed and regulations for selling farm produce.  More research needed there.   My last class of the day was about evaluating hay.  It was really instructive and made me feel better about what I’m feeding them now and about purchasing next year’s ton.  Good stuff all around.  There were another half dozen classes I would have loved to take, but since I don’t have a working time turner (or just don’t know how to work the one I have), they’ll have to wait until next year’s Expo.

I had a weekend “off” – no classes or events, whew – and then had another all day class this past Saturday, again conducted by WSU Extension, called  Women in Agriculture.  It was a great day of panel discussions, two great presentations – both virtual – and a connecting with other women doing what I’m doing.  Some of them are further along than I am (farming) and some were still in the dreaming stage (I’m only a wee bit past that, really), and it was a very informative and validating day.  The keynote speaker was Lyn Garling of Over the Moon Farm, who started farming at age 48, and gave a great talk.  She had a ton of information about the definition of farming, and what a “real farmer” is, and the opportunities for women in farming.  It made me realize that I am a farmer, and I can do this. I don’t know yet what exactly I will be producing for sale – so far it’s just been eggs – but now I also know that 91% of farmers have to work off the farm in order to survive financially.  Just like me.  So as I work towards achieving the goal of farm income, I know my little place is not a hobby farm, or a lifestyle farm, and I’m not a gentleman farmer.  I’m growing and producing, and soon I’ll be marketing.   I am a farmer. 

In addition to the classes I’ve taken and have yet to take (a cooking class at the end of the month, more dog training classes with Daisy – to start in March, an editing course in April (online – weee!), an environmental writing workshop in April), I’ve also hired an amazing life coach, Nancy Carlstrom, and have been coaching once a week, determined to finally discover and blast past whatever’s been holding me back for so long.  Instead of sitting around wishing and hoping and dreaming (though I still do all three), I’m determined to take some action and realize my goals.  The work so far with my life coach has been great, learning more about what motivates me on a deeper level and what trips me up too, and learning a new way of looking at things and do things differently so that I can achieve these dreams I’ve been dreaming. 

So I guess without stating it via “resolutions” (such a depressing word, really)I’ve decided that this year is the year I make these changes.  Look out 2012, ’cause here I come!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The story so far: 2012 and me

  1. Pingback: Just dogs « Mo Bloggin'

Leave a Reply

The First Ten Words by Rich Larson

Because a guy has to keep his chops sharp

George Lakoff

George Lakoff has retired as Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Linguistics at the University of California at Berkeley. He is now Director of the Center for the Neural Mind & Society (cnms.berkeley.edu).

valbjerke's Blog

Real Life Random Ramblings

psychologistmimi

Food, Road Trips & Notes from the Non-Profit Underground

Citizens for Duvall

A grass roots group that gives a voice to its citizens outside of city council meetings.

Pet Zoo Kibbutz Shiller

Adventures of a pet zoo keeper

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finisterre

Trish the Dish

Keeping Our Family's Bellies FULL... One Dish at a Time

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Hen Corner

A little bit of country life in West London...

morrisbrookfarm

Going back...a return to rural life

Relaena's Travels

Eternal Journeys of a Curious Mind

The Global Warmers

8 dogs, 2 elderly adults and an aging RV

Fiber Trek ™

A TV show Connecting Community, Craft, Fiber and Farms

Brookfield Farm Bees & Honey Blog

musings on bees, life, & nature near Mt. Baker Washington

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

ella gordon

textile maker

Jenny Bruso

An Unlikely Hiker Blog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Squash Practice

A Growing Concern

Food, Farming and Faith in Snohomish County

Icelandic Fiber Farming in Cascadia

Carol Lea Benjamin on Dogs

Understanding dogs and the many roles they play in our lives

Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Living Your Sacred Livelihood

Weaving the Wisdom in Nature with Possibility Practices

Chris Morgan's Wildnotes

A BLOG of pictures and thoughts from the field

Denise Fenzi

a professional dog trainer specializing in relationship-building in competitive dog sport teams

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

Black Sheep Creamery

Artisan Sheep Cheese, Wool and Lambs

Woolyadventures's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

flippity felts

Curious and Quirky needle felts from deepest darkest Devon

Single Life, With Puppy

Suddenly single at 55; what to do but get a puppy?

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

Karen Maezen Miller's Cheerio Road

A little o' this, a little o' that

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Adventures in Natural Beekeeping

Bees, Hives, Swarms, and Everything under the Sun

CARROT QUINN

dispatches from the wild

The KiltLander's Blog

JP's Outlander Recaps and other perspectives from the Dirk Side

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

