Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Bee talkin’

It’s the last day of March and the wet end to a wet month.  And it’s not just me complaining (again) – there were records set all over the state, for daily rainfall accumulation and monthly accumulation.  But it didn’t matter today because I was in a class, well, a talk, all day, and it was raining for much of the day.  As the talk wound down, a weak sunlight began to penetrate the clouds, and by the time I got home at 6 pm it was downright sunny.  It was a beautiful end to a very nice day—nice because the talk was really great.  It was given by Jacqueline Freeman, an organic beekeeper in southwest Washington, near Portland, and hosted by her longtime friend, Patti, who lives in Snoqualmie.  It was held at Patti’s home, a beautiful little farm even in the rain and mud.  How lucky for me –only a couple towns over instead of a three hour drive. 

If you’ve seen the movie Queen of the Sun, you’ve seen Jacqueline in action.  The first part of the day (10:00 – noon) focused on catching swarms, both the nuts and bolts how to’s and the why, and the why was included in the title of the talk “The Salvation of the Honeybee Kingdom: Swarms & Feral Bees.”  Simply put, the genetic diversity we need for healthy bees is something we need to encourage.  Jacqueline is a great friend to the bees, and after listening to her talk, I’m almost glad I didn’t treat for mites (yet?).  I’ve ordered my package for my new hive this year even knowing that the queen it will contain will have been artificially inseminated (seriously) and genetic diversity and survival of the fittest is being lost because of this.  After Jacqueline’s talk I’m hoping to get on a swarm list and get my future bees this natural way.  Another point she made was how swarming is natural and to be celebrated and even encouraged, versus the traditional beekeeping view of preventing them from swarming.  When a hive swarms it essentially is splitting into two hives, with the queen leaving with 50 to 70 percent of the hive workers, and new queens (that will hopefully find mates) inheriting the hive from her).   I’ve always secretly thought this would be cool if it happened, but the conventional beeks all make it sound like it’s something to be avoided.  Certainly if a hive is too small (not enough room)  it could encourage a premature split (or an abandonment altogether), but swarming is the natural order of things and would be amazing to see.  So my plan is to have the equipment ready (extra hive boxes) for a swarm, from my own bees or others. 

The afternoon talk was about the spirituality of bees and beekeeping, the title being “The Arc of Creation and the Song of Increase, the Spiritual Life of the Honeybee.”  The title alone had me hooked, but when Jacqueline began her talk explaining that she’s talked with the bees (as animal communicator), and then sharing the things they’ve told her…well, it sounds woowoo but it felt right.  I know my connection to my bees was instant and total, and I’ve struggled to explain the feelings I felt as I drove them home that first day.  Certainly some of it was a maternal-oriented fierce desire to protect and nurture them.  I feel much the same for all my animals, especially my dogs.  But the bees were a surprise to me, and it felt elemental and somehow “right.”  After hearing Jacqueline’s talk I understand better why I felt/feel so connected to them, even on their cranky days (to be fair, I have a bad habit of popping the lid late in the day, which puts them on high alert).  I’ve been worried about them, with all this wet weather, and after they devoured all the honey I put in there earlier this month I wanted to feed them some more.  Since it’s been too cold to open up fully to put my syrup feeder in there I decided to just give them a little granulated sugar.  They gobbled up the half cup I put on the top of the inside lid, so I put another half cup.  Then another.  And now they have dysentery, judging by the poops outside the door today.  Sigh.  I also saw some dead white bees on the ground in front of the hive.  They look nearly adult, but probably did not hatch.  I wonder now if they were drone cells, removed to combat varroa mites.  It’s all so mysterious sometimes, and as much as I wish I could help them or fix it, the thing I learned today was that it’s probably best that I leave them alone as much as possible.  I’d like to scrape out the ½ cup or so of granulated sugar still in there, but they are so testy (got stung on the back of my leg the other day putting it in there!) I don’t want to disturb them until the weather warms up and I can do a thorough inspection. 

I let the sheep out to graze a bit when I got home from the class this afternoon, since they’re going through hay like I have a flock of 10 instead of only five.  I’d blame it on the girls, eating for two (or three?) as they are, but it’s always the boys I see eating.  I’m not sure what’s going on there but there is a lot of waste I think.  The boys have developed a new habit of pawing the ground in front of the big feeder, so now there’s a trench underneath it approximately four feet long by two feet wide by 18 inches deep.  Jerks.  I’ve filled it in several times, the last two times with hog fuel (didn’t last) and then with some of the dry litter from elsewhere in the pen.  It lasted a little longer than the hog fuel, but I still need to figure something out.  I see some cement patio squares in my future.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Bee talkin’

  1. Cool. I get honey from my girlfriend Lisa. They have a beehive at their home. And like you, I am outdone with the rain. I just got back from Phoenix, not a happy camper. But hopefully just a couple more weeks before I head back to east coast. Just wanted to say hi!

    • mcfwriter on said:

      Hey, LaNicia – great to hear from you! Another chilly wet day today…sigh. If we have another spring like 2010 and 2011 I may have to defect. But where? 😉

  2. I like to carry out an artificial swarm to split the hive in two when I see swarm cells. That way you’re working with the bees’ swarming instinct but you’re not losing half of them or annoying the neighbours.

    Dead larvae in front of the hive can be a sign of brood disease, for instance chalkbrood. Hope the bees will be ok.

    • mcfwriter on said:

      Thanks, Emily – that sounds like a great way to do it. I don’t have close neighbors, but I also don’t think the bees are likely to find much in the way of natural homes, so it would be more likely to be in someone’s attic!

      I’m hoping they’re okay. The dead white bees I saw were pupae, and there were only three, thus my assumption they could be drone pupae being ousted. Hopefully nothing more serious. We had some sun patches today, amongst the chilly clouds, wind, and even hail, and when it was sunny, the girls were out flying. I wasn’t seeing any return with pollen sacs full, like earlier this month, so maybe they’re getting nectar (not much blooming here yet, but the native Indian Plum and Salmonberry are starting; earlier this month it was mostly just hazelnut and alder catkins). There were a lot of them out getting water in a soggy patch of my lawn, too.

      Thanks again for your feedback. I enjoy reading your blog about your hives (you’ve inspired me to name my queen, too!) 🙂

  3. I love the thought that we can communicate with all our pets, I have always loved my fish and found it fun to “train” and play with them. It is amazing how interactive they can become.
    What a fascinating talk that must have been and I like the idea of working more with the bee’s natural instincts instead of fight them.
    Hopefully weather will hurry up and get better so they can get some good pollen.

Leave a Reply

The First Ten Words by Rich Larson

Because a guy has to keep his chops sharp

George Lakoff

George Lakoff has retired as Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Linguistics at the University of California at Berkeley. He is now Director of the Center for the Neural Mind & Society (cnms.berkeley.edu).

valbjerke's Blog

Real Life Random Ramblings

psychologistmimi

Food, Road Trips & Notes from the Non-Profit Underground

Citizens for Duvall

A grass roots group that gives a voice to its citizens outside of city council meetings.

Pet Zoo Kibbutz Shiller

Adventures of a pet zoo keeper

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finisterre

Trish the Dish

Keeping Our Family's Bellies FULL... One Dish at a Time

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Hen Corner

A little bit of country life in West London...

morrisbrookfarm

Going back...a return to rural life

Relaena's Travels

Eternal Journeys of a Curious Mind

The Global Warmers

8 dogs, 2 elderly adults and an aging RV

Fiber Trek ™

A TV show Connecting Community, Craft, Fiber and Farms

Brookfield Farm Bees & Honey Blog

musings on bees, life, & nature near Mt. Baker Washington

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

ella gordon

textile maker

Jenny Bruso

An Unlikely Hiker Blog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Squash Practice

A Growing Concern

Food, Farming and Faith in Snohomish County

Icelandic Fiber Farming in Cascadia

Carol Lea Benjamin on Dogs

Understanding dogs and the many roles they play in our lives

Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Living Your Sacred Livelihood

Weaving the Wisdom in Nature with Possibility Practices

Chris Morgan's Wildnotes

A BLOG of pictures and thoughts from the field

Denise Fenzi

a professional dog trainer specializing in relationship-building in competitive dog sport teams

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

Black Sheep Creamery

Artisan Sheep Cheese, Wool and Lambs

Woolyadventures's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

flippity felts

Curious and Quirky needle felts from deepest darkest Devon

Single Life, With Puppy

Suddenly single at 55; what to do but get a puppy?

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

Karen Maezen Miller's Cheerio Road

A little o' this, a little o' that

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Adventures in Natural Beekeeping

Bees, Hives, Swarms, and Everything under the Sun

CARROT QUINN

dispatches from the wild

The KiltLander's Blog

JP's Outlander Recaps and other perspectives from the Dirk Side

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

