Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Just dogs

So for all my enthusiasm about classes and events presenting themselves this year, I’m a little topped out these days.  Well, maybe more than a little.  Recently, I’ve been as up and down emotionally as during any of Cutter’s bad spells (I miss him so, sometimes always), and it’s all of my own doing, mostly.  There’s no law that says just because a cool class comes across your radar that you have to sign up for it, yet it seems I didn’t get the memo.  Between extracurricular classes and the daily grind of chores – critters, housework, yardwork, etc., I’m in need of a vacation!  There’s no question that this girl likes and needs her down time to recharge and refresh and reconnect, but lately it seems that if/when I do have that time it’s only tinged with guilt and shoulds.  Yuck.  

April has been busy, with two classes (one online where I haven’t started week one’s assignment and week four is coming right up…sigh) and coaching on Monday nights (and two weekends booked with classes as well).  The class that isn’t online has left me in tears twice now (week two and week four), yet it’s probably the most important one of all.  It’s my obedience class with Miss Daisy, who tries so hard but for whom self control is a major challenge.  Maybe it’s the fact that she’s a girl with an agenda raised by bird dogs, or maybe (more likely) it’s the fact that of all the Rottweilers I’ve owned in the past nearly-thirty years, she’s the one I’ve probably been the most lax with, and she’s the one who really needed more from the get-go, with her history (shelter adoption/ spent her first 9 months in a kennel run with her dam and siblings) and temperament.  She’s turning my crank, and mirroring back to me all my foibles and “too much” recently, and we’re quite the pair.

Let me stop right here and say she’s a sweet, sweet dog, who absolutely loves people, unlike my darling Wil, my beloved, my heart, who was barely civil to me, never mind people he didn’t know (and of course I loved him to distraction) but he was nothing if not obedient.  And maybe that’s where I erred.  Having seen what “total control” does to a dog with a soft heart (never cruel, but always “in control”), over two decades later I just let Daisy be Daisy, and she’s exactly the wrong dog with whom I should have had this lackadaisical approach.  I could have sawed Wil’s leg off and he would barely have protested.  Yet a “tip them” nail trim with Daisy has me wondering if I need to muzzle her next time.  It’s crazy when I think of the dichotomy.  

There is only one other dog in the obedience class, a galooping young Great Dane puppy of six or eight months, all legs and awkward angles.  He easily outshines Daisy in every way, obedient and calm, responsive and smart (she’s extremely smart, too, but you can’t really tell in class).  As I watched him the other night, after Daisy bashed me in the chin with her hard head for the second time (thought my jaw was dislocated for a moment), I felt more despair and frustration with my enthusiastic girl.  I don’t even attempt half of the exercises in class, because she’s so barely under control as it is.  About midway through the class I felt her control slipping, and the last 30 minutes was just a series of admonishments and jerking her no-pull harness with little result as she lunged and whined in excitement.  

When the Dane puppy was distracted on a recall exercise (toys placed in his path to proof him) I laughed at his cute response.  You could almost hear his “Gawrsh! A ball!” as he stopped to pick it up on his way back to his mistress.  It was adorable, with his gangly legs and bar towel-sized ears flopping.  I realized when I laughed that I’d “oopsed” and said aloud “that’s so cute” as his owner put him back in a stay for the next try.  I received a mild admonishment from her “It’s not cute” and understood my faux pas.  I realize that he’ll be a huge dog, and it’s important to get control early, but that gangly little guy (who’s taller than Daisy right now) will likely be dead in eight years, if one goes by breed life span statistics, and it just seems like that adorable essence of him is what makes living with dogs so pleasurable.  For me.  And I wonder now that maybe I’m not cut out for this–for a dog or breed of Daisy’s kind of determination–anymore.  I’ve become so soft in my “old age,” knowing how little time we have with these bright beings, and how I want to enjoy them and let them enjoy life to the fullest (yes, it’s a contradiction at times, I know).  So yeah, I had a sniffle in the parking lot as we left, for my own mistakes with Daisy (can’t tell you how many times I’ve laughed at her adorable misbehavior, though I’ve tried to stifle it…) and for the long road ahead in trying to reel her in without crushing her.  

Yes, Daisy is a handful and a half, and I’m kicking myself for not continuing with classes last fall, when we finished puppy class as one of the best pupils.  The timing wasn’t right for me, or so I thought, and in the meantime she’s grown to a young teenager, sweet yet willful, and reactive with little self control (the bird dog influence?).  I’m beyond thankful that I have such a nice temperament to work with (i.e., non-aggressive) but she’s not going to make it easy, either.  She’s all “me me me” and her only dark side is her propensity to bully Farley (who’s nobody’s dog except mine, and that’s part of the problem). 

And ah, my sweet Farley-foo.  I am so utterly in love with this dog!  We just celebrated our sixth anniversary together (it was April 14, 2006, that he came to live with me, a shelter rescue by my friend Asya) and I can hardly believe my free spirited little sprite is now the old man of the family (Pal is 2 ½ – so easy and sweet that I don’t write about him!, Daisy is 1 ½) at age…? Eight?  I pray it’s not more than that, as I want him with me for as long as possible, but the longer I have him the more likely it is that he’s older than I thought at the beginning, when I estimated him at nine months to a year (and a part of me knowing I was kidding myself even then).  He was probably at least two when I got him, so eight years old now is doable.  His eyes are getting a little cloudy, and I think his muzzle has a bit of sugar dusting in the brown fur, but he’s still spunky and playful, and freaking adorable.  

Alas, however, he did manage to develop a condition that has seemingly added to his age.  I mentioned it a couple of months ago, when we were still in the diagnosis stage.  After the visit to the veterinary dermatologist it was confirmed, he has symmetrical lupoid onychodystrophy, or SLO (cause who can pronounce that last word?!).  What that means is he has an autoimmune disease (likely) that causes his nails/claws to lift up and come off.  It’s rather painful for him, and though there’s treatment (he’s on doxycycline and niacinimide, and pain meds as needed) there are no guarantees.  His nails are growing back irregularly, brittle and gnarled looking, but the quicks are exposed and painful and his favorite game (ball or toy thrown) often leaves him limping.  I’m hoping we get to some sort of remission with it, but it’s a lifelong thing ahead of us.  Yes, it’s a cakewalk compared to Cutter’s epilepsy, but it still sucks big time.  Sucks for him and, honestly, sucks for me, to have a special needs dog yet again.  I was feeling sorry for myself when he was first diagnosed.  I joined the Yahoo support group for people with SLO dogs and was going to whine, then corresponded with a woman with a Rottweiler with SLO (turns out it’s one of the more common breeds that get the condition…and I’d never heard of it in almost 30 years with Rottweilers!) and her other Rottweiler has epilepsy.  Oh.  I think if this had happened while Cutter was alive (and I was also dealing with Dinah’s urinary incontinence and extreme fears of loud noises) I would have run screaming… 

So yeah, I’m a bit topped out these days.  No more classes for me for a while (though there is that felting class in a couple of weeks….reeeally want to sign up).  I’m going to concentrate on getting my website rebuilt, and getting my garden planted.  We’re having a normal to dry April (hallelujah!) and I’m looking forward to more KALE!!!  In the meantime, I pick up my new bees today – Earth Day, so fitting!  I can now call it the beeyard!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Just dogs

  1. I totally understand that over whelmed feeling…and the difference in dogs personalities is amazing. I don’t think I will ever own another girl rottweiler. I love my Shy but the girls are so different then the boys. Pickles was super naughty a counter surfing pro that would grumble and grouse about everything. But he also was a mind reader. I know I am anthromorphising but that dog had the vocabulary of a 2 year old, I could tell him a sentence and he would do it. Shy is always Shy. She loves me feircly but she also loves to chase cats and other little critters and other dogs and would choose that over me in a split second. She also really only wants affection on her terms. Pickles always was there when I needed love. I swear he had esp to when I needed a soft snuggle. That is the other difference. He was a soft snuggler, gentle as a kitten. When you get affection from Shy it is like getting run over by a moose. I try not to compare but I do. I love her dearly but I love her as a dog. Pickles I loved as my furry son. Yes I know that puts me in the crazy cat lady category but honostly that is how it is.
    I know that you and Daisy will find that balance of discipline and training and love and freedom. I can say that Shy had and still has to this day be on a pretty strict, going through the door last, sitting and waiting at the door going in and out, waiting for her supper etc etc to this day. She still gets to have fun but rules are what made our life go smoothly. She still to this day does things that I would expect from a puppy (see my jade plant story sigh). But every time I let up on “the rules” she becomes naughty so back in place they go. The only one that I have relaxed a bit is she gets to come up on the bed for a bit. That was Pickles spot so it was off limits until he was gone. Now she gets some bed time every night.
    good luck with your girly, sounds a lot like my Shy and I foresee many OB classes in her future it is what made living with my wild child bearable…

  2. mcfwriter on said:

    Thanks, Bliss. I smiled at Shy’s jade plant wreck when I read it the other day, and have a feeling that, yes, I’ll be doing the same thing in 8 or 9 years with Daisy. Sigh. I’ve been frustrated with her – she too is a cat chaser, and doesn’t seem to be letting up on that (it’s almost been 11 months now…wow, fast year!). She IS better with the chickens, but I can’t trust her completely. Learned that the hard way a couple weeks ago – an old hen that wasn’t going to last the summer anyway, but still, it reinforces the whole deal. Her prey drive is pretty keen, yet she doesn’t seem to have the discernment of my previous Rottweilers. Yet!

    Like you say, it’s hard not to compare. I totally agree with you about the boys though – soooo much easier, even when they’re tough. Maybe it’s just that male to female thing (or, more accurately, the two bitches thing – me and her). My first Rottweiler was a female, and my third, and my fifth. Daisy’s my seventh Rottweiler, and my fourth girl. Dinah was high strung too, but in a different way, and she had a softer temperament that did mellow somewhat as she got older. Daisy’s a tomboy and a bull in a china shop, or yes, a moose, and very vocal too – something I’ve not experienced in previous Rottweilers. I was going to touch on how the breed has changed in the past three decades in this post, but figured that’s a topic unto itself, plus the fact that I really can’t be entirely sure Daisy is purebred. I’ve wondered sometimes (the yippy, barky stuff is new to me, but considering her first six months or so, it could be something that just got hardwired in via conditioning during key early development stages). I may just do a DNA test, out of curiousity. I don’t really trust those things – some of the results seem SO wacky, but maybe when I get my tax return. As a breed, though, it seems today’s dogs are much easier in many ways (sociable) but it seems like as they became less aloof they also became less calm. Or maybe it’s just my experience with my last two girls. At the end of the day, though, like you say, I still love her to bits (to bitch?). She Is pretty snuggly too, so I lucked out there.

    Thanks for the good wishes – we’ll be in obedience classes for life, I think. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Bee yard blunderings « Mo Bloggin'

Leave a Reply

The First Ten Words by Rich Larson

Because a guy has to keep his chops sharp

George Lakoff

George Lakoff has retired as Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Linguistics at the University of California at Berkeley. He is now Director of the Center for the Neural Mind & Society (cnms.berkeley.edu).

valbjerke's Blog

Real Life Random Ramblings

psychologistmimi

Food, Road Trips & Notes from the Non-Profit Underground

Citizens for Duvall

A grass roots group that gives a voice to its citizens outside of city council meetings.

Pet Zoo Kibbutz Shiller

Adventures of a pet zoo keeper

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finisterre

Trish the Dish

Keeping Our Family's Bellies FULL... One Dish at a Time

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Hen Corner

A little bit of country life in West London...

morrisbrookfarm

Going back...a return to rural life

Relaena's Travels

Eternal Journeys of a Curious Mind

The Global Warmers

8 dogs, 2 elderly adults and an aging RV

Fiber Trek ™

A TV show Connecting Community, Craft, Fiber and Farms

Brookfield Farm Bees & Honey Blog

musings on bees, life, & nature near Mt. Baker Washington

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

ella gordon

textile maker

Jenny Bruso

An Unlikely Hiker Blog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Squash Practice

A Growing Concern

Food, Farming and Faith in Snohomish County

Icelandic Fiber Farming in Cascadia

Carol Lea Benjamin on Dogs

Understanding dogs and the many roles they play in our lives

Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Living Your Sacred Livelihood

Weaving the Wisdom in Nature with Possibility Practices

Chris Morgan's Wildnotes

A BLOG of pictures and thoughts from the field

Denise Fenzi

a professional dog trainer specializing in relationship-building in competitive dog sport teams

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

Black Sheep Creamery

Artisan Sheep Cheese, Wool and Lambs

Woolyadventures's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

flippity felts

Needle felt designs and tutorials by Gabby Dexter

Single Life, With Puppy

Suddenly single at 55; what to do but get a puppy?

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

Karen Maezen Miller's Cheerio Road

A little o' this, a little o' that

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Adventures in Natural Beekeeping

Bees, Hives, Swarms, and Everything under the Sun

CARROT QUINN

dispatches from the wild

The KiltLander's Blog

JP's Outlander Recaps and other perspectives from the Dirk Side

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

