Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Beeyard blunderings

So it’s been a busy couple of weeks here on the ridge, with new life all over the place. As mentioned in my previous post, on Earth Day I picked up my new bee package. They’d just come all the way from northern California and I strapped them into the back seat, a couple of girls loose in the car.  They pretty much just wanted to be with the other bees and the queen, so I wasn’t worried. It was a warm day, thankfully, and I got them home and left them in the car while I got ready to install them in my new hive. I realized I didn’t have a marshmallow to plug the queen cage, and hoped that it had a candy plug. In case it didn’t, I had some creamed honey I’d purchased last year. It was stiff and almost like a thick paste. I figured it would work to plug the hole, mixing it with a little sugar for an even thicker plug. I put the rest of the jar, lid off, in the bottom of the hive for the girls to dine on something a little more natural than the sugar syrup I’d made up.

In the 10 or 15 minutes they’d waited in the car, the sun warmed them up, and when I got the box out, they were buzzing and alive, and unlike last year’s cold, sluggish bunch. I went out to the hive, suited up, and pried off the cover/can. They swarmed out of the hole and I realized this wasn’t going to be the crazy-easy piece of cake that it was last year, where I literally poured the bees into the hive. I pulled out the queen cage and plugged the hole with the gooey paste I’d made, then dropped her into the hive (literally!! Aaiiee!!). Thankfully she was okay, and I placed the metal clip over one of the top bars and slid things into place. I upended the cage of bees into the hive, and a majority went in there, though there were hundreds flying around me in the warm midday sun. I replaced the hive boxes and left the cage next to the hive, so the stragglers could make their way into the hive. It didn’t feel nearly as smooth as last year’s installation, but I had to hope for the best.

Later in the day I noticed a lot of newer looking bees at Aurora’s hive (my first hive – I’ve finally named her!), confused and just wanting to get with a colony. Then I noticed the little bowl of the leftover paste I’d made (left in front of the hive for them to eat). It was thick with drowning bees, as the honey liquefied in the hot sun. I was horrified, thinking of the blob I’d put in the queen cage, and the jar I’d left in the hive, and appalled at my own stupidity. I quickly opened the new hive. There were hundreds of bees clustered in there – a good thing – and my queen cage was empty. I got the jar from the bottom of the hive, filled with more drowned and drowning bees. It was so upsetting to see my poor girls suffering because of my incredibly dumb idea. It would have worked last year, when it was cool for weeks after installation, but this year, in the warm sun…how could I have been so stupid? I rescued as many as I could, rinsing them off gently in the kitchen sink and bringing them back out to the hive later, and in truth didn’t lose more than a few dozen, but it was still upsetting to me. The good news is the hive seems to be doing fine, and two weeks in, they have been busy with comb building. They built right up against the observation panel (I’m supposed to scrape the comb off of the sides of the hive, but am reluctant to do so, as well as confounded by the mechanics of how I’m supposed to do this (have to come from underneath…). I’ll tap into some local wisdom soon, but for now I am enjoying seeing the comb being filled with pollen and either nectar or sugar syrup (honey) as the girls get busy. And I even saw a waggle dance as one of the girls was telling her sisters of a great find. They’re flying in with plenty of pollen and seem to be doing well.

Aurora’s hive is doing very well. After our miserable March weather, where I worried I would lose them, they’ve rebounded in the April warmth. I was/am concerned with the frequency that I’m seeing white, almost adult pupae being dragged out of the hive and dumped into the grass – either there are too many drones, or they got chilled or the hive is using the drone cells to harvest/remove varroa mites. Or something. I am not as worried as I was, as this past weekend I thought they were swarming there were so many bees out. It was wonderful. I think they were just all out en masse because it was a warm afternoon and the hive needed cooling, but I wished I had an extra hive to catch a swarm. (It’s on my list, but I haven’t gotten to it yet.) I was thrilled to see so many, and took a dozen pictures of them and my little beeyard. I haven’t named the new hive/queen yet, though Regina or Beatrix are on the list.

The other big news is the arrival of twins. Twice.  More on this in my next post, but suffice it to say that the cute factor is squee inducing. 

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Beeyard blunderings

  1. We’ve all been there with the bees, sounds like the kind of thing I would do! Like your choices of new queen names.

    • mcfwriter on said:

      Thanks Emily. I am still appalled with myself on this one, but thankfully they’ve seemed to survive my attempts to care for them !!. And glad you like the names – it’s all your fault, you know 🙂 I’d never thought about it until reading about your Rosemary and Lavender, and now Myrrh. Hope the latter has had her maiden flight and is back safe and growing the hive.

      • Bees can put up with a lot from us! Glad Emma and I started a trend for queen naming 🙂

        Sadly it’s still too wet and cold for us to check whether Myrrh is alive and laying, this April was the wettest in the UK since records began and May isn’t much better so far.

      • mcfwriter on said:

        I feel your pain, Emily. Our spring last year was that way – wet, wet, and more wet, and cold too. It was July before it started to warm up. This year hasn’t been as bad overall, though March was a record setter here (Seattle, USA). I find it all bothers me more now that I have bees – I worry about my girls; the damp is so hard on them. Hope you get some sunshine soon!

  2. I have become a compulsive checker of the forecast since getting bees. Luckily in this country that is socially acceptable, 90% of small talk is about the weather. Wishing sunshine to both of us and our poor soggy bees. By the way your hives are a fabulous colour, such a vibrant green.

  3. What adventures and so much to learn with keeping bees but how much fun to be allowed into their lives.

Leave a Reply

The First Ten Words by Rich Larson

Because a guy has to keep his chops sharp

George Lakoff

George Lakoff has retired as Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Linguistics at the University of California at Berkeley. He is now Director of the Center for the Neural Mind & Society (cnms.berkeley.edu).

valbjerke's Blog

Real Life Random Ramblings

psychologistmimi

Food, Road Trips & Notes from the Non-Profit Underground

Citizens for Duvall

A grass roots group that gives a voice to its citizens outside of city council meetings.

Pet Zoo Kibbutz Shiller

Adventures of a pet zoo keeper

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finisterre

Trish the Dish

Keeping Our Family's Bellies FULL.... One Dish at a Time

KURT★BRINDLEY

writing ★ producing ★ editing

Hen Corner

A little bit of country life in West London...

morrisbrookfarm

Going back...a return to rural life

Relaena's Travels

Eternal Journeys of a Curious Mind

The Global Warmers

8 dogs, 2 elderly adults and an aging RV

Fiber Trek ™

A TV show Connecting Community, Craft, Fiber and Farms

Brookfield Farm Bees & Honey Blog

musings on bees, life, & nature near Mt. Baker Washington

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

ella gordon

textile maker

Jenny Bruso

An Unlikely Hiker Blog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Squash Practice

A Growing Concern

Food, Farming and Faith in Snohomish County

Icelandic Fiber Farming in Cascadia

Carol Lea Benjamin on Dogs

Understanding dogs and the many roles they play in our lives

Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Living Your Sacred Livelihood

Weaving the Wisdom in Nature with Possibility Practices

Chris Morgan's Wildnotes

A BLOG of pictures and thoughts from the field

Denise Fenzi

a professional dog trainer specializing in relationship-building in competitive dog sport teams

Black Sheep Creamery

Artisan Sheep Cheese, Wool and Lambs

Woolyadventures's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

flippity felts

Curious and Quirky needle felts from deepest darkest Devon

Single Life, With Puppy

Suddenly single at 55; what to do but get a puppy?

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

Karen Maezen Miller's Cheerio Road

A little o' this, a little o' that

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Adventures in Natural Beekeeping

Bees, Hives, Swarms, and Everything under the Sun

CARROT QUINN

dispatches from the wild

The KiltLander's Blog

JP's Outlander Recaps and other perspectives from the Dirk Side

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

