Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Cute and crazy making!

Time is zooming by, as usual. I got half the garden planted at the end of May, after first redoing the  fence (taller and stronger, to keep out the sheep, and Daisy).  I planted beans (green beans and shelling/dried beans varieties), carrots (two kinds), onions, lettuce (three kinds), chard, broccoli, cauliflower, cucumber and kale, wonderful kale!  I had some volunteer potatoes come up (obviously missed digging up a few last fall – oops!), then planted a few more.  And I still have the other half of the garden to plant – beets, peas, mustard greens, rutabagas, more beans  and (to replace the first planting – poor germination due to cool weather and birds/voles, and likely some compost that was still a little too hot, as well as some, ahem, damage (see below)) more carrots and cucumbers (damage to seed patch), and some dill and parsley – and get my squash patch dug/fenced for my pumpkins, zucchini, delicata, and winter squash.  Whew!  I planted some winter squash starts I purchased (buttercup and butternut), but the chickens are busy out there, and Pal has been hunting out there too (moles).  I hope he’s successful soon!  I may even let him into the garden, as I can see one has been mining in there recently. 

I was so proud of my fence around the garden, so much taller and sturdier than last year; I’d pounded in sturdy t-posts instead of the weak-ass u-posts of last year, and stringing up the 36 inch tall wire.  Then I looked out there one day about a week after I planted to see Daisy having a good time, with a nice steamy pile on my bean patch.  I ran out there in my slippers, yelling at her and slightly deranged with anger.  She took my wild yelling as an invitation to play and had a case of the zoomies in the soft dirt of my newly planted beds.  Weeeee!!!!  She finally figured out I was hoppin’ mad, and leaped neatly over the fence from a standing start.  So much for all my work.  A week after that, when I was finally able to see what survived her doing donuts in the seed beds, I looked out to see three of the four lambs out there.  What the…!!!  I ran out and opened the gate to shoo them out.  Of course Cinnamon’s girls got freaky and ran headlong into the fence itself to escape the monster (me).  Sigh.  Really?  I was much calmer moving them out than I was with Daisy, cause you kind of have to be to get anywhere with sheep, but they still got stupid with fear.  More fence repair.  (I’m pretty sure they pushed under it in a weak spot by the side of the driveway, where it had come loose.  They enjoyed dining on my kale sprouts, but the damage wasn’t too terrible, considering.  I repaired the loose area and then purchased some cheap surveyors tape to string along the top of the fence, to provide a bigger visual for Daisy as well as adding another six inches for her to have to clear (’cause I found her out there again this past weekend!).  Once everything gets growing the thrill will be gone so I can relax some (I hope) and maybe even take down the unlovely white tape.  What is it with dogs and soft dirt? – they love to tear around in it.  Of course I have only myself to blame, conditioning Daisy and Pal as I did by letting them run around in there all winter (no fence during the winter).  Pal couldn’t make the leap over the new fence (at least he thinks he can’t, and I’m not telling him otherwise), so thankfully the damage wasn’t as bad as it could have been. 

I’ve been letting the sheep out to roam the property pretty much every day.  They can’t keep up with all the grass, and are now hungry because it’s all gone to seed (which they won’t eat).  I was hoping to avoid it this year, but I have the pasture mower guy coming on Saturday, so all the seed heads will be mowed down and the grass should get some leaf growing again.  The lambs are growing fast and seem so big now (but are still small – perfect miniatures of their mamas), and are crazy cute as they race around in a little wooly pack of youthful exuberance.

With all of these pull-my-hair-out moments, I needed a break!  So, for the first time in almost three years, I had a couple of nights away.  I left for my nephew’s graduation in California, and had some fabulous house sitters stay here to take care of the menagerie.  It was great to get away, and wonderful to share this family event, and I’m looking forward to more, maybe later this summer or fall.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Cute and crazy making!

  1. LOL so funny how some dogs respect a small fence (Pickles only needed about 6 inches) and how some will make it their goal to leap over. Hopefully your seeds survive as I look forward to mouth watering reports of fresh veggies all summer!

    • mcfwriter on said:

      I agree, Bliss – Daisy’s not one to respect ANYthing, but most of mine have been good about not breaching barriers like this (except Pal did leap the two foot fence last winter, too…) I still think it’s a girl thing – my boys are so much easier in general. She’s growing out of the teenage stuff, but still a handful. I know I’m going to look back on her naughty escapades with fondness. Someday.

Leave a Reply

valbjerke's Blog

Real Life Random Ramblings

psychologistmimi

Food, Road Trips & Notes from the Non-Profit Underground

Citizens for Duvall

A grass roots group that gives a voice to its citizens outside of city council meetings.

Pet Zoo Kibbutz Shiller

Adventures of a pet zoo keeper

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finesterre

Trish the Dish

Keeping Our Family's Bellies FULL... One Dish at a Time

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Hen Corner

A little bit of country life in West London...

morrisbrookfarm

Going back...a return to rural life

Relaena's Travels

Eternal Journeys of a Curious Mind

The Global Warmers

8 dogs, 2 elderly adults and an aging RV

Fiber Trek ™

A TV show Connecting Community, Craft, Fiber and Farms

Brookfield Farm Bees & Honey Blog

musings on bees, life, & nature near Mt. Baker Washington

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

ella gordon

textile maker

Jenny Bruso

An Unlikely Hiker Blog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Squash Practice

A Growing Concern

Food, Farming and Faith in Snohomish County

Icelandic Fiber Farming in Cascadia

Carol Lea Benjamin on Dogs

Understanding dogs and the many roles they play in our lives

Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Living Your Sacred Livelihood

Weaving the Wisdom in Nature with Possibility Practices

Chris Morgan's Wildnotes

A BLOG of pictures and thoughts from the field

Denise Fenzi

a professional dog trainer specializing in relationship-building in competitive dog sport teams

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

Black Sheep Creamery

Artisan Sheep Cheese, Wool and Lambs

Woolyadventures's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

flippity felts

Needle felt designs and tutorials by Gabby Dexter

Single Life, With Puppy

Suddenly single at 55; what to do but get a puppy?

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

Karen Maezen Miller's Cheerio Road

paradise in plain sight

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Lorelle on WordPress

Helping you learn more and do more with WordPress

Adventures in Natural Beekeeping

Bees, Hives, Swarms, and Everything under the Sun

CARROT QUINN

dispatches from the wild

The KiltLander's Blog

JP's Outlander Recaps and other perspectives from the Dirk Side

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

Fringe Association

Knitting ideas, inspiration and free patterns, plus crochet, weaving, and more

The Outlander Podcast™

Chatting about All Things Outlander

The Year of Living Englishly

Coming Home to Cows, Cryptic Crosswords, and a Cambridge Don . . . and back in Boston

