Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Blue moon

Tonight’s blue moon turns out to be a good analogy for the frequency of my posts here in the past couple of months.  An exaggeration, sure (as that analogy almost always is), but it has been a while.  Good intentions went by the wayside as summer finally hit full swing and the days of sunlight and warmth began. By the time I make it inside each evening I’m usually squeezed for time for the inside chores and turning on the computer doesn’t even happen most weeknight evenings.   That’s changing a bit now as the days grow shorter (sob!) and it’s full dark by 9:00, though after spending eight hours in front of one at the day job, there isn’t much appeal to boot up at home.  Not when there are balls to toss, gardens to weed, eggs to collect, sheep to tend, and even a moment or two of relaxing on the deck with a glass of wine and a book (if only Farley would let me…).

I took a new position at the day job – a lateral move, technically, to a new department – and I’ve been busy, with overtime hours to prove it.  The work is similar, but with a lot more of what I’m good at: editing, formatting, word processing.  I like it a lot, and it’s good to be busy and even needed.  It kind of took me by surprise, and while I’m enjoying the work and staying busy all day,  I also long for a little more down time.  The eternal dilemma (for some of us) of time vs. money.  I’m at a point in life where the time is more valuable than the green stuff (though that’s been true for me pretty much my whole life) so it will be a trick to see how this plays into the coming months, when the newness has worn off and I’m up to speed with the routine tasks.  Right now it doesn’t leave much time for growing my own business, or writing at all.  The one thing I do carve out time for is my down time – the do nothing, lazy Sunday morning stuff, where I sit in bed reading with a cup of tea while the dogs sleep off their breakfasts next to me.  I still feel mildly guilty when I spend a day accomplishing little more than soaking up the sun and puttering around the house and yard.  I know it’s essential to my well being though – mentally as well as physically – and recharging like this is necessary.

Even so, I’ve managed to accomplish a few things over the summer, with more on the docket.  I’m finally getting around to painting the  interior walls.  Some of them.  Soon.  So far I’ve only purchased the paint, but with the holiday weekend I’m hoping to get the entry and part of the living room painted in the next couple of days.  And I’m hoping I like the colors I’ve picked, once they’re on the wall and dry.  I painted my front door (exterior) a couple of weekends ago and am still not sure if I like it.  It was black before, which always looked kind of odd and even a little creepy/ominous to me.  The house is painted a pale yellow with white trim, and the black door was the only thing black.  Even the back door is white.  I thought I’d go with something vibrant, a green or a blue – my favorite colors – in a style similar to those great colored doors you see on row houses in Europe.  After weeks of indecision, and paint chips taped by the door to see how they looked on the yellow and in every lighting, I settled on Monterrey Bay Teal, not too light, not too dark, and a rich mixture of the dark blue-green color I’m drawn to.  I guess I like the color, though next to the pale yellow it looks a wee bit 1980s/1990s teal.  That awful decor theme that was so popular (and I didn’t like even then) – the mauve and teal, with geese graphics as the animal du jour (usually with a mauve or teal bow around their neck, and often wearing an apron).   Maybe it’s just me.  Or maybe it’s time to paint the outside of my little house, too.   Ha!

The garden is finally hitting a bit of a stride.  It’s been a less than stellar year, with germination issues, dog and sheep issues, and lots of insect issues.  I grew different varieties of carrots this year, and either that or the late germination has avoided the rust fly maggots that attacked last year’s crop.  The carrots are gorgeous, but not nearly as tasty for raw eating as last year’s, so I’ll be making lots of my nummy carrot soup.  I already made one vat of it (double recipe) and not much made it to the freezer.  I missed it, so made up for lost time and ate so much I should be orange. mmm.  More this weekend for sure!  The kale crop has been so-so.  It’s definitely not as vigorous as last year, and with more pests (aphids and cabbage worms) to contend with.  The volunteer plants – a variety I didn’t grow last year, and seedlings coming up in places I didn’t sow any seeds – are strongest.  I’m not sure where they came from; I didn’t have any kale even go to seed last year (thinking of some kind of hybrid), so it’s kind of strange.  As with all volunteer plants though, they’re hearty and vigorous, relatively speaking.  The volunteer cucumber plants sprouted weeks after the ones I purposely planted, but are thriving and outproducing the intentionals (same variety, as far as I can tell).  I’ve already harvested 10 pounds of potatoes from the volunteer plants that sprouted.  The mice or meadow voles enjoyed them too, with all of the largest eaten and damaged beyond salvaging.  I’m not sure if they’re digging their own tunnels or repurposing mole tunnels (I have a very active mole in the garden – part of the reason many of the plants aren’t as vigorous as they should be: their roots are high and dry  half the time, as the mole tunnels  under everything looking for worms).

The sheep are well, and the lambs gorgeous with their fluffy first fleeces.  I’m planning to shear them this month…maybe.  They’re all so cute and fluffy now I almost hate to shear them, and I’m still half on the fence with it for this and other reasons, but am afraid if I wait until March I’ll end up with the same problem as last year – too much crap in the fleece and matting issues.  Their little fleeces are beautiful right now, though Pebbles’ daughter, the adorable and super friendly little Minnie, has plenty of junk in her black fleece.  She is dog-like in her friendliness and enjoys attention.  As I scratch her chin and pet her, I find cleavers seeds galore, and bits of leaves and blackberry vine, etc.  Her brother, Fergus, is much the same.  Of Cinnamon’s twins, one is definitely friendly, though she’s loyal to her freaky mom and sister, too.  She will almost come up for petting on her own, and often pushes in with Minnie and Fergus, though contact is brief.  It’s definitely a case of nature over nurture, as her inclination is to be bold and friendly, unlike her mother and sister who are both on high alert and ready to bolt if I even look at them for more than a passing glance.  I wish I could tell them apart, but other than temperament I can’t find any noticeable (to me) distinguishing marks or conformation.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Blue moon

  1. The Monterrey Bay Teal was an excellent choice! So is spending time outside on your farm, and enjoying “down time” instead of blogging. Made a point of doing that yesterday morning myself!

  2. I am loving the color, I bet it grows on you. Really reminds me of the blue you see in pictures of Greece.
    Your summer sounds great and I to feel more like writing in the winter when it is darker, we have to take as much advantage of our disappearing daylight as we can.
    Recipe please on the carrot soup? I have been really in to making large batches of soup and then eating them for the next few days. I am a lazy cook 🙂

  3. mcfwriter on said:

    Thanks, Bliss. It is definitely growing on me, and despite the washout effect of the pale yellow, the richness of the teal is deepening somehow. So much better than the black (black would work on a different house/color).

    Today’s overcast has me sad – even though I’d like a little rain (the pasture grass needs water!) I’m not quite ready for clouds. Oh well.

    I’ll email the soup recipe to you – I can’t find a copy of it online (it’s from a class I took at PCC Markets) so will scan the recipe and send you the pdf with my notes. I’m making another batch today (my carrots are going like gangbusters!). Unless I make jam (blackberry – one more batch, and plum – a couple batches, if the plums are ready. Daisy’s been leaping at the fruit trees (apple and plum) like a giant Jack Russell Terrier , and manages to pluck something off often enough that she keeps at it, but I don’t think things are ripe enough yet. I like my fruit more sweet than tart. 🙂

    • That is so funny that Daisy is picking the fruit! My girly LOVES fruit. I think she would take a banana over a piece of steak. I am a cold weather girl but I love clear sunny cold weather so yes a little sad about the clouds but you are right the rain is needed 🙂

Leave a Reply

The First Ten Words by Rich Larson

Because a guy has to keep his chops sharp

George Lakoff

George Lakoff has retired as Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Linguistics at the University of California at Berkeley. He is now Director of the Center for the Neural Mind & Society (cnms.berkeley.edu).

valbjerke's Blog

Real Life Random Ramblings

psychologistmimi

Food, Road Trips & Notes from the Non-Profit Underground

Citizens for Duvall

A grass roots group that gives a voice to its citizens outside of city council meetings.

Pet Zoo Kibbutz Shiller

Adventures of a pet zoo keeper

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finisterre

Trish the Dish

Keeping Our Family's Bellies FULL... One Dish at a Time

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Hen Corner

A little bit of country life in West London...

morrisbrookfarm

Going back...a return to rural life

Relaena's Travels

Eternal Journeys of a Curious Mind

The Global Warmers

8 dogs, 2 elderly adults and an aging RV

Fiber Trek ™

A TV show Connecting Community, Craft, Fiber and Farms

Brookfield Farm Bees & Honey Blog

musings on bees, life, & nature near Mt. Baker Washington

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

ella gordon

textile maker

Jenny Bruso

An Unlikely Hiker Blog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Squash Practice

A Growing Concern

Food, Farming and Faith in Snohomish County

Icelandic Fiber Farming in Cascadia

Carol Lea Benjamin on Dogs

Understanding dogs and the many roles they play in our lives

Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Living Your Sacred Livelihood

Weaving the Wisdom in Nature with Possibility Practices

Chris Morgan's Wildnotes

A BLOG of pictures and thoughts from the field

Denise Fenzi

a professional dog trainer specializing in relationship-building in competitive dog sport teams

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

Black Sheep Creamery

Artisan Sheep Cheese, Wool and Lambs

Woolyadventures's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

flippity felts

Curious and Quirky needle felts from deepest darkest Devon

Single Life, With Puppy

Suddenly single at 55; what to do but get a puppy?

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

Karen Maezen Miller's Cheerio Road

A little o' this, a little o' that

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Adventures in Natural Beekeeping

Bees, Hives, Swarms, and Everything under the Sun

CARROT QUINN

dispatches from the wild

The KiltLander's Blog

JP's Outlander Recaps and other perspectives from the Dirk Side

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

