Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Inversion blues

It’s been a week of cold weather now, and while I’m really enjoying the lack of mud (sa-weeeet!), I am getting sorely tired of the fog.  Of course on the weekend, when I’m home, it’s foggy all day here too.  

We’ve been experiencing a week of cold fog throughout the Seattle area, though until Saturday, the fog has been absent in my little town.  Which is amazing, since Foggy Bottom could be an alternate name for my town in this fertile river valley.  It’s known for frequent fogs, and mid-morning fog on the nicest of summer days is common.  But this past week, as I’ve jetted off to the day job, it’s been mostly clear and beautiful, and I only hit the fog once I got five or so miles away.  And at the office (about 18 miles away) it’s socked-in foggy and cold, and a wee bit creepy, honestly, all day long.  It reminds me of a Stephen King novel (The Mist being the most obvious, but he has others that have creepy fog, too).  I check the area traffic cams throughout the day, and see bright sunshine in my home turf while my office (well, the floor my cubicle is located on, anyway) is sunk deep in icy fog for the entire day.  It makes me yearn to be at home, for yet another reason.  My office cube is on the 11th floor of a high rise, and the fog didn’t lift at all, where normally it would burn off (sort of) by 2 or 3 o’clock at the latest.  Not this week.  A run out for lunch was a lesson in layering – brrr!  A scarf was a minimal extra to the January parka, and gloves or mittens a necessity as well (though this germophobe wears gloves for as many months as she can get away with it).  This week I’ve added a hat.  I often wear a cap (something with a bill), to keep the rain off of my glasses, but this week a beanie was the better option.  Plus a hood!  

After a week of freezing temps, everything's coated with fog frost.

After a week of freezing temps, everything’s coated with fog frost.

It’s barely getting above freezing during the day, and dips a few degrees below freezing every night, so the ground vegetation is frozen, and after a week the trees are beginning to look like it’s snowed, especially those on a northern exposure.  A drive out on Saturday was pretty (what I could see, anyway) with the trees looking like a Christmas card in areas where the day’s sun didn’t reach, and the overwintering Trumpeter swans in the fields by the road looking dreamlike in the mist.  But.  As much as I like the lack of rain (and it’s not even the lack of rain so much as the lack of mud that makes the difference), I’m getting tired of this.  I don’t mind cold weather, but this damp fog and cold is getting tedious.  Normally when we get temperatures this cold we also have either snow (yay!), however fleeting that may be, and/or clear skies – big YAY!  Not seeing the sky due to fog is different than missing it due to overcast skies.  I’m not liking this thick, endless fog so much.  If it’s going to be this cold and rain-free, how about some sunshine to go with?  The local weather guru tells us that just a few hundred feet up, above the fog, it’s a balmy 60+ degrees (and sunny!), and that the inversion is supposed to last another half week.   

So far, though, I’m just counting my blessings.  Since it’s hovering around freezing, the issue of frozen pipes and no running water is also hovering.  It’s not dropping too low at night, and daytime temps are getting above freezing (even on my

The frost covered spider webs look like tiny jeweled nets - like something the faeries would leave.

The frost covered spider webs look like tiny jeweled nets – like something the faeries would leave.

north-facing hillside) so I’ve been okay so far.  Still, it’s created an underlying anxiety.  In my experience here, it’s two or three days of 20’s or below at night, with daytime temps not getting above freezing, that cause the pipes to solidify (at the well head, from what I can tell).  I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the next few days (weather is predicted to hold for another three or four days) will stay the same.  In the meantime I’m holding off on laundry and dishwasher use, so I don’t inadvertently use up the tank water.  Drinking water for me and the critters is more important than running the dishwasher, and right now I’d rather be able to flush the toilet than reduce the hamper’s volume.  

I have yard work to do, and cleaning out the sheep shed, but may not get to it this weekend.  As delicious as last weekend’s cold, clear weather was, this weekend’s cold, damp fog cuts to the bone.  I need to haul at least a couple wheelbarrows of “strhay” out of there, so I can open the gate to get in and feed them every day.  Water has been a trip with a warm bucket or container of warm (hot water) every morning.  It adds a few minutes to the morning routine, but it’s not too terrible in that it’s not freezing during the day as well. 

 Foggy bottom Sunday

 The fog is thick again today, with the chill that won’t let go.  No little cat feet here; this stuff is cat silent, yes, but more like a Siberian tiger than a

The scene later, after the fog rolled in (and the sheep were out).

The scene later, after the fog rolled in (and the sheep were out).

wee pussycat.  There was some sort of kerfuffle on the road this morning, with emergency units – aid car and police – and, later, a tow truck.  It seems the black ice claimed another.  I didn’t go down to inspect; it looked like there was plenty of help, and the dogs would have been idiots with the people and vehicles on “their” road (and to leave them in the house would have caused a kerfuffle in here!).  The vehicular dustup was on the northwest corner of my property, and looked like the vehicle (a white SUV) went into the ditch by my neighbor’s driveway.  And that was before the fog really rolled in.  It’s thick now, and very Twilight-esque looking out there.  

I worked outside for a bit, my hands becoming painful with the cold (wearing gloves) and my thighs blocks of ice.  I thought blubber was supposed to be insulating, but my thighs have never gotten the message, and even with long underwear get very cold.  There wasn’t much I could do, being so cold, but I managed to fill the yard waste bin with some downed limbs.  I also did some scooping, with some of the, um, product, frozen to the ground.  Poopsicles, if Cutter were still with us.  I came back in to make some hot drinks, some baked eggs for a bit of brunch, and take care of last night’s carrot soup.  It’s another yummy batch, this time with homemade chicken broth (normally I use homemade vegetable broth).  I’ll have some for lunch this week,

Spicy carrot and onion soup, almost done.

Spicy carrot and onion soup, almost done.

and put some in the freezer as well.  I have enough carrots to make at least four more double batches, and judging

And finished - blended and garnished with parsley and sour cream.

And finished – blended and garnished with parsley and sour cream. Mmmm.

from the condition of the carrots I used last night, I need to keep up on this, so will make another vat tonight or tomorrow night.  The smaller ones were getting a little rubbery, and there was some moldiness on the tops, plus fine white root growth on the ones that weren’t getting rubbery.  Not bad, in truth – I harvested these back in October, so they kept fairly well in the ensuing three months.  The ones I harvested in late December are still fine, and waiting their turn for soup.  

The sheep are enjoying their day out, as are the chickens.  The fog is a double edged sword for the chickens.  It keeps the raptors flying low, but also keeps them from the broad view, so they have to be flying right over to see the chickens, and are then of course very visible to the chickens, too.  As I sit here, looking out the window at the hens industriously working in the grass and underbrush, I wonder if I’ll ever get tired of this view, or if the thrill I feel when I see the sheep flock strolling by as one will ever get old.  It almost looks brighter out there now, so maybe today’s fog will burn off.  With three more hours of daylight left, I suppose it’s possible.  In the meantime I just need to bite the bullet and go clean out the sheep shed so I can get the gate open for a few days this week.  [Update: Five wheelbarrow loads out of there today – kept me warm in the foggy chill (it never did clear).]

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Inversion blues

  1. I do so love reading about your little farm. Makes me hopeful some day I will have a bit of acreage and can get some hooved animals. For now I am super content with my 1/4 acre of yard for my dogs to play in. That fog was really hard for me. I don’t mind the cold clear weather we get in the winter but the gray was depressing even though I should not complain as it could have been pouring but yet it seemed endless as we never got any sun.
    Did you share the carrot soup recipe somewhere and am I forgetting where? I think you did, if so can you direct me to where? I love soups and I am hoping to plant lots of carrots and kale this year.

    • mcfwriter on said:

      I felt the same way about the foggy cold, Bliss – I’ll take freezing sunshine any day, and even love snow, but a whole week of freezing fog was miserable.

Leave a Reply

The First Ten Words by Rich Larson

Because a guy has to keep his chops sharp

George Lakoff

George Lakoff has retired as Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Linguistics at the University of California at Berkeley. He is now Director of the Center for the Neural Mind & Society (cnms.berkeley.edu).

valbjerke's Blog

Real Life Random Ramblings

psychologistmimi

Food, Road Trips & Notes from the Non-Profit Underground

Citizens for Duvall

A grass roots group that gives a voice to its citizens outside of city council meetings.

Pet Zoo Kibbutz Shiller

Adventures of a pet zoo keeper

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finisterre

Trish the Dish

Keeping Our Family's Bellies FULL... One Dish at a Time

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Hen Corner

A little bit of country life in West London...

morrisbrookfarm

Going back...a return to rural life

Relaena's Travels

Eternal Journeys of a Curious Mind

The Global Warmers

8 dogs, 2 elderly adults and an aging RV

Fiber Trek ™

A TV show Connecting Community, Craft, Fiber and Farms

Brookfield Farm Bees & Honey Blog

musings on bees, life, & nature near Mt. Baker Washington

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

ella gordon

textile maker

Jenny Bruso

An Unlikely Hiker Blog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Squash Practice

A Growing Concern

Food, Farming and Faith in Snohomish County

Icelandic Fiber Farming in Cascadia

Carol Lea Benjamin on Dogs

Understanding dogs and the many roles they play in our lives

Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Living Your Sacred Livelihood

Weaving the Wisdom in Nature with Possibility Practices

Chris Morgan's Wildnotes

A BLOG of pictures and thoughts from the field

Denise Fenzi

a professional dog trainer specializing in relationship-building in competitive dog sport teams

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

Black Sheep Creamery

Artisan Sheep Cheese, Wool and Lambs

Woolyadventures's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

flippity felts

Curious and Quirky needle felts from deepest darkest Devon

Single Life, With Puppy

Suddenly single at 55; what to do but get a puppy?

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

Karen Maezen Miller's Cheerio Road

A little o' this, a little o' that

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Adventures in Natural Beekeeping

Bees, Hives, Swarms, and Everything under the Sun

CARROT QUINN

dispatches from the wild

The KiltLander's Blog

JP's Outlander Recaps and other perspectives from the Dirk Side

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

