Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Starved for sun

Miserable pounding hail storm last Saturday - I suppose I should be grateful that this weekend it was just rain.

Hail storm pounding down last Saturday – I suppose I should be grateful that this weekend it was just rain. And it seemed like my blog post at the end of March was a little premature.

I haven’t posted in a while; nothing too new going on, I guess, and I’ve been on a break of sorts.  Every three months or so I take a week off from my daily writing practice.  I’ve actually only been doing a daily practice for about six months, but I do find at the end of three months that things have deteriorated to the point that I have to stop or fling the computer out the nearest window.  I need to get back on track, but may take another week off.  I’m toying with signing up for a daily write with a writing coach, so I can generate more than just journal posts (better than not writing at all, but contribute to the burn out).

So, nothing too new with me, but life progresses.  I’ve chosen not to blog about world events and politics, and have to admit I occasionally to frequently want to.  There’s some crazy shit happening out there in the past year or so, and my opinions are strong (and of the tree hugging variety), but that’s for another blog.  Stay tuned for the launch on that one, because it’s been percolating for a while.

If a bee could squee, my little sun worshippers were surely squeeing this afternoon.

It’s late Sunday afternoon, and the rain has stopped.  It rained for about 24 hours straight this weekend and everything is super soggy.  As soon as the sun came out this afternoon though, the bees were out.  It was still a little breezy and cool, but warm enough that they all came swarming out the door.  They’ve been cooped up for a week now, with the chill and the wet.  I’ve decided that seeing the bees out flying causes me to take as many photos as the seeing the dogs sleeping does.  Both are fairly lame as photo ops, but both compositions make me so happy I can’t stop myself.  Seeing the bees out in force, especially after a long winter, is such a thrill, always.  The photos look the same as the last 40 times I took pictures of them out flying, but still I click away.  The dogs sleeping is so adorable and heartwarming, I just take them over and over (am stopping myself now, surrounded as I am by my three beauties, all caught in a sunbeam nap).

I let the sheep out of their pen this afternoon, and of course when I got home yesterday afternoon too, when they only got an hour or so of grazing and browsing before the rain set in hard.  They spent some time chewing cud in the doorway area of their pen, under cover, then, being gnarly sheep, headed back out into it.  At one point I saw Nona shake off and it looked like a bucket of water flew off of her.  I love this about sheep.  I’m still keeping them penned and on hay until the

Milling around at the gate to the pasture.  Not quite ready for grazing.

Milling around at the gate to the pasture, which isn’t quite ready for grazing.

pasture gets some decent growth to it (and close the pasture gate when they’re out on these afternoons).  I am really sick and tired of the whole hay thing.  It’s been six months now, filling the damn hay nets every day, and seeing the waste and the mess my feeding system makes of their fleeces.  The BWM wethers are using the nets as some sort of back rub (and I’m so tired of them rubbing on every thing), so they look like someone’s dumped a bag of hay dust on their back every day.  They were sheared a month ago, so chances are the fleeces will be fine at next shearing, but I wish the grass would hurry up and grow so I could get them out on pasture. This coming week the weather predictions are for sunny and warm, which will help to turbo-charge the grass growth.  I decided not to overseed this year, since it doesn’t seem like it does much good.  What I really need to do is some moss control and add some lime.  I need a ton of lime to do the pasture.  No, really, I mean 2,000 pounds of lime.  And that’s on the low end of the rate recommended.  A 40 pound bag runs $5 or so, so we’re talking two or three hundred dollars to lime the pasture.  Something to save up for, I guess.  It’s pretty much too late to do it until next fall at this point (fall/winter or early spring are best for applying).

Weee! Our NACSW membership packet came this week; we’re all set to start getting some titles (well, with a little more practice, that is).

Daisy and I had a good time at Nosework class yesterday.  She’s quite the champ when we first get started, though I think she’s more of a sprinter than a marathoner.  She comes roaring out of the gate, all business and locked on task.  It’s really amazing to see her work.  On the second round she started to lose focus a bit, and threw herself down and rolled in the grass with glee.  I had to remind her what we were there for.  It was hard, because she rolls with such joyful abandon and it’s so adorable…  Once she put her mind to it, though, she was awesome.  She did pretty well on the third run – right to the hide, four feet off the ground, and jumped up to put her nose on it (the other dogs in class had to be coaxed to do this – sometimes being a wild thing is an advantage!).  By the fourth run, though, I could barely get her to concentrate.  She was so bored and looked at me with one of those “really?” looks.  In contrast, the other dogs in class got better and better on each run.  I need to do more work at home with her to keep her motivated.  She’d only had one workout in the previous two weeks, so it’s easy to understand why she got tired of it so quickly.

After we finished nosework I ran to the pet food store to stock up, then over to fill the gas tank.  I had to hurry, as we had an appointment at 2:15 to pick up some new family members.  More on this in my next post!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Starved for sun

  1. Wait until you get your first entries into you book!
    I assume you are still pairing? that helps with bored dogs 😉

    • mcfwriter on said:

      Yes, I’m still pairing, Bliss. Once in a while I’ll do a scent only (and birch is all we’ve used so far), just to see how she does. She’s been GREAT even without pairing, but Marilyn, our instructor, really stresses pairing, to prevent that boredom and indifference. I use liver, so it’s a pretty high value treat (and stinky, too 😉 I can hardly wait to get some entries in her book (and still have to get her picture printed for it). I’ve convinced a couple of coworkers to start with their dogs, too – I’m excited for them! (I hope they like it half as much as me and Daisy do!)

      • oh good. some people do not pair long enough. Sounds like your instructor is a super star! Well let me know when your first trial is, maybe I can come down and volunteer and watch you 😉

Leave a Reply

The First Ten Words by Rich Larson

Because a guy has to keep his chops sharp

George Lakoff

George Lakoff has retired as Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Linguistics at the University of California at Berkeley. He is now Director of the Center for the Neural Mind & Society (cnms.berkeley.edu).

valbjerke's Blog

Real Life Random Ramblings

psychologistmimi

Food, Road Trips & Notes from the Non-Profit Underground

Citizens for Duvall

A grass roots group that gives a voice to its citizens outside of city council meetings.

Pet Zoo Kibbutz Shiller

Adventures of a pet zoo keeper

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finisterre

Trish the Dish

Keeping Our Family's Bellies FULL.... One Dish at a Time

KURT★BRINDLEY

writing ★ producing ★ editing

Hen Corner

A little bit of country life in West London...

morrisbrookfarm

Going back...a return to rural life

Relaena's Travels

Eternal Journeys of a Curious Mind

The Global Warmers

8 dogs, 2 elderly adults and an aging RV

Fiber Trek ™

A TV show Connecting Community, Craft, Fiber and Farms

Brookfield Farm Bees & Honey Blog

musings on bees, life, & nature near Mt. Baker Washington

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

ella gordon

textile maker

Jenny Bruso

An Unlikely Hiker Blog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Squash Practice

A Growing Concern

Food, Farming and Faith in Snohomish County

Icelandic Fiber Farming in Cascadia

Carol Lea Benjamin on Dogs

Understanding dogs and the many roles they play in our lives

Mo Bloggin'

A little o' this, a little o' that

Living Your Sacred Livelihood

Weaving the Wisdom in Nature with Possibility Practices

Chris Morgan's Wildnotes

A BLOG of pictures and thoughts from the field

Denise Fenzi

a professional dog trainer specializing in relationship-building in competitive dog sport teams

Black Sheep Creamery

Artisan Sheep Cheese, Wool and Lambs

Woolyadventures's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

flippity felts

Curious and Quirky needle felts from deepest darkest Devon

Single Life, With Puppy

Suddenly single at 55; what to do but get a puppy?

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

Karen Maezen Miller's Cheerio Road

A little o' this, a little o' that

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Adventures in Natural Beekeeping

Bees, Hives, Swarms, and Everything under the Sun

CARROT QUINN

dispatches from the wild

The KiltLander's Blog

JP's Outlander Recaps and other perspectives from the Dirk Side

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

